+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
A History of Rome under the Emperors : Routledge Key Guides - Theodor Mommsen

A History of Rome under the Emperors

Routledge Key Guides

By: Theodor Mommsen, Barbara Demandt (Editor), Alexander Demandt (Editor), Thomas Wiedemann (Introduction by), Clare Krojzl (Translator)

Paperback

Published: 22nd April 1999
Ships: 15 business days
15 business days
RRP $58.99
$53.75

Theodor Mommsen (d. 1903) was one of the greatest of Roman historians, and the only one ever to be awarded the Nobel prize for literature. His fame rests on his "History of Rome" as well as his work on Roman law and on the Roman provinces. But the work that would have concluded his history of Rome--which ran to the reign of Augustus--was never completed. This book represents that great lost work.
In 1980 Alexander Demandt discovered in an antiquarian bookshop a full and detailed handwritten transcript of the lectures on the Roman Empire, which Mommsen gave for many years from 1863 to 1886, made by two of his students. This transcript has been edited to provide the authoritative reconstruction of the book Mommsen never wrote, "A History of Rome Under Emperors."
Barbara and Alexander Demandt have carefully edited the text and provided detailed annotation and explanatory references. For the English edition, Dr. Thomas Wiedemann has written an introduction which surveys Mommsen's position and influence in nineteenth century German scholarship and introduces his work for English speaking readers.
This book caused a sensation when it was published in Germany in 1992, and was front page news in many newspapers. For readers of English, it will be an authoritative survey of four centuries of Roman history, and a unique window on the German tradition of the last century.

"This precious volume will undoubtedly remain a major tool for the historians of Rome!." -The Journal of Indo-European Studies "Those readers wishing detailed examination of Roman struggles for territory or political power will not be disappointed. [Mommsen's] analysis of the response to barbarian incursions in the fourth century is particularly compelling....the publishing of this great historian's views is an invaluable contribution to classical historiography." -"Booklist "A magnificent discovery." -Rolf Hochhuth, "Die Welt ..."a new valuable edition far more complete than any past work." -"The Bookwatch

List of maps
Introduction
Alexander Demandt, Mommsen, Rome and the German Kaiserreich Thomas Wiedemann Abbreviations and Bibliography
The Berlin Academy Fragment A history of Rome under the Emperors
From Augustus to Vespasian Winter Semester 1882/3 [MH.I]
Augustus (44 BC-AD 14)
The consolidation of the monarchy
The princeps
The institutions of government
The provinces
The imperial family and domestic politics
Tiberius (14-37)
Gaius Caligular (37-41)
Claudius (41-54)
Nero (54-68)
The Year of Four Emperors (68-69)
The Vespasian (69-79) A history of Rome under the Emperors
From Vespasian to Diocletian Summer Semester 1883 [MH.II]
General Introduction
Domestic Politics I
Peoples and languages
Monetary and fiscal matters
The army
Administration
Wars in the West
Britain
The Rhine Frontier
Gaul
Spain
Africa
Wars on the Danube
The garrison
The Dacian War
The Marcomannic War
The Gothic Wars
Wars in the East
Conflicts with the Prhtians
Conflicts with the Sasanids and Palmyrans
Domestic Politics II
The Emperor and the court
The army and Senate A history of Rome under the Emperors
From Diocletian to Alaric Winter Semester 1885/6 and Summer Semester 1886 [MH.III]
General Introduction
Government and Society
A History of Events
Diocletian (284-305)
Constantine (306-337)
The sons of Constantine (337-361)
Julian and Jovian (355-364)
Valentinian and Valens (364-378)
From Theodosius to Alaric (379-410)
Notes
Index
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780415206471
ISBN-10: 0415206472
Series: Routledge Key Guides
Audience: Professional
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 656
Published: 22nd April 1999
Publisher: Taylor & Francis Ltd
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 23.5 x 15.9  x 2.97
Weight (kg): 0.96
Edition Number: 1