+612 9045 4394
A History of Modern Political Thought : Major Political Thinkers from Hobbes to Marx - Iain Hampsher-Monk

A History of Modern Political Thought

Major Political Thinkers from Hobbes to Marx

Paperback Published: 7th January 1993
ISBN: 9781557861474
Number Of Pages: 624

Share This Book:


RRP $62.95
Ships in 5 to 9 business days

Iain Hampsher-Monk&#8217;s lucid and accessible history of modern political thought is the introduction which many have been waiting for, providing a thorough guide to the ideas and writings of major political thinkers from Hobbes to Marx (including a full account of <i>The Federalist</i> papers).<br><p>The author&#8217;s aim throughout is to incorporate the benefits of modern scholarship of the historical school, with its emphasis on historical and political circumstances as a key to meaning. Recognizing that for most students time will not allow detailed study of the historical and political contexts of particular works, Hampsher-Monk provides here the background necessary for the reader to situate the writings of key thinkers in relation to wider currents in intellectual and political history.<i><br><p>A History of Modern Political Thought</i> will meet the needs of both general readers and students of political theory and philosophy. It is an indispensable secondary source which aims to situate, explain, and provoke thought about the major works of political theory likely to be encountered by students of modern political thought.



1. Thomas Hobbes.

2. John Locke.

3. David Hume.

4. Jean-Jacques Rousseau.

5. 'Publius': The Federalist.

6. Edward Burke.

7. Jeremy Bentham.

8. John Stuart Mill.

9. G. W. F. Hegel.

10. Karl Marx.



ISBN: 9781557861474
ISBN-10: 1557861471
Series: Major Political Thinkers from Hobbes to Marx
Audience: Professional
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 624
Published: 7th January 1993
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 24.4 x 17.41  x 3.18
Weight (kg): 0.96
Edition Number: 1