Booktopia has been placed into Voluntary Administration. Orders have been temporarily suspended, whilst the process for the recapitalisation of Booktopia and/or sale of its business is completed, following which services may be re-established. All enquiries from creditors, including customers with outstanding gift cards and orders and placed prior to 3 July 2024, please visit https://www.mcgrathnicol.com/creditors/booktopia-group/
Add free shipping to your order with these great books
A Friend in the Dark - Pascal Ruter

A Friend in the Dark

By: Pascal Ruter, Emma Mandley (Translator)

Paperback | 2 February 2017

Sorry, we are not able to source the book you are looking for right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

A heartwarming and funny story about the power of friendship, perfect for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce, Jacqueline Wilson and Lara Williamson.

Victor is a failure at everything – school, girls, making his dad feel better about his mother having left them. When Marie-Jose, the smartest girl in the class and musical prodigy, starts helping him with his maths homework, there must be something she wants in return.
  • A memorable coming-of-age story, told with humour and tenderness, perfect for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce, Jacqueline Wilson and Lara Williamson.
  • A film adaptation of the novel will be released in France and Germany in October 2016.
  • A thought-provoking and beautifully written debut by a highly regarded author.

About the Author

Pascal Ruter grew up in the southern suburbs of Paris. He loves stories above all, especially ones where the misfortune and severity of life are matched by the absurdity and humour of everyday situations. A Friend in the Dark (Le Coeur en Braille) is Pascal's first novel for Walker Books. He currently lives in a tiny village in the middle of the forest of Fontainebleau. A Friend in the Dark (Le Coeur en Braille) was translated into English by Emma Mandley. Emma has translated a wide range of French and Italian texts. She lives in London.
Industry Reviews
"[...] a poignant, sensitive and eloquently translated French novel [...]" * Armadillo *
A beautiful heart-warming story of believing in yourself and others. * Primary Times *

More in School Stories for Children & Teenagers

Ladybirds Do Not Go to Day Care : Preschool Problems - Ali Rutstein
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban : MinaLima Edition - J.K. Rowling
Fish in a Tree - Lynda Mullaly Hunt

RRP $14.99

$14.25

Fluff, Mess Up! : Fluff - Matt Stanton

RRP $15.99

$15.25

Little Nic's Big Day - Nic Naitanui

RRP $19.99

$18.95

Weirdo: Weird Wedding! : Weirdo - Anh Do

RRP $15.99

$15.25

Upper Fourth at Malory Towers - Enid Blyton

RRP $17.95

$7.95

56%
OFF
Fluff: Bullies Beware : Fluff - Matt Stanton

RRP $16.99

$16.25

Second Form at Malory Towers - Enid Blyton

RRP $17.99

$8.25

54%
OFF
Last Term at Malory Towers - Enid Blyton

RRP $17.95

$7.95

56%
OFF
The Extra Special Helper : Billie B Brown Series : Book 5 - Sally Rippin