Add free shipping to your order with these great books
A Crime in the Neighborhood - Suzanne Berne

A Crime in the Neighborhood

By: Suzanne Berne

Paperback | 1 May 1999 | Edition Number 1

At a Glance

Paperback


$26.25

Aims to ship in 30 to 35 business days

WINNER OF THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION

'This ambitious account of a sudden coming of age reminded me strongly of To Kill a Mockingbird - and is every bit as moving and satisfying' Daily Telegraph

In the long hot summer of 1972, three events shattered the serenity of ten-year-old Marsha's life: her father ran away with her mother's sister; a young boy called Boyd Ellison was molested and murdered; and Watergate made the headlines. Living in a world no longer safe or familiar, Marsha turns increasingly to 'the book of evidence' in which she records the doings of the neighbors, especially of shy Mr Green next door. But as Marsha's confusion and her murder hunt accelerate, her 'facts' spread the damage cruelly and catastrophically throughout the neighborhood.

'It is impossible not to be completely swept along. Berne's vision is gently humorous, ironic, quirky, and she writes with such piercing sensitivity . . . a compelling debut novel' The Times

'Intensely evocative. I loved it' Observer

'The writing is marvellous . . . comparisons have been made between her and Anne Tyler and Harper Lee. Same ball-park, delightfully different voice' Mail on Sunday

Industry Reviews
"A remarkable first novel...that captures the history of child-parent relations for the last quarter of a century."--The New York Times Book Review "Like Alice McDermott's That Night and in the tradition of Harper Lee's To Kill A Mockingbird, Suzanne Berne has crafted a child's disillusionment that mirrors a greater disaffection."--Newsday

Women's Prize for Fiction Winners

Half of a Yellow Sun - Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Piranesi : Winner of the 2021 Women's Prize for Fiction - Susanna Clarke
Hamnet : Winner of the Women's Prize for Fiction 2020 - Maggie O'Farrell
We Need To Talk About Kevin - Lionel Shriver

RRP $23.95

$20.95

13%
OFF
The Power : Winner of the 2017 Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction - Naomi Alderman
Home Fire : Winner of the Women's Prize for Fiction 2018 - Kamila Shamsie
Bel Canto : A Novel - Ann Patchett

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
The Lacuna - Barbara Kingsolver

Paperback

RRP $26.99

$21.75

19%
OFF
The Idea of Perfection : Text Classics - Kate Grenville

RRP $14.95

$14.25

Small Island - Andrea Levy

Paperback

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
A Spell of Winter : Penguin Essentials - Helen Dunmore
May We be Forgiven - A. M. Homes

RRP $26.99

$20.40

24%
OFF
Fugitive Pieces : rejacketed edition - Anne Michaels

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
Property : Abacus 40th Anniversary - Valerie Martin

RRP $26.99

$26.25

Larry's Party - Carol Shields

Paperback

$25.40

A Crime in the Neighborhood - Suzanne Berne
On Beauty : 1st Edition - Zadie Smith

RRP $22.99

$20.50

11%
OFF
Home - Marilynne Robinson

Paperback

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
A Girl is a Half-Formed Thing - Eimear McBride

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF