Add free shipping to your order with these great books
A Baby's Bones : Sage Westfield - Rebecca Alexander

A Baby's Bones

By: Rebecca Alexander

Paperback | 1 August 2018

At a Glance

Paperback


$28.50

Aims to ship in 25 to 35 business days

Archaeologist Sage Westfield has been called in to excavate a sixteenth-century well, and expects to find little more than soil and the odd piece of pottery. But the disturbing discovery of the bones of a woman and new-born baby make it clear that she has stumbled onto an historical crime scene, one that is interwoven with an unsettling local legend of witchcraft and unrequited love.

Yet there is more to the case than a four-hundred-year-old mystery.

The owners of a nearby cottage are convinced that it is haunted, and the local vicar is being plagued with abusive phone calls. Then a tragic death makes it all too clear that a modern murderer is at work…
Industry Reviews
"Alexander fuses the secrets of Renaissance-era alchemy and the knowledge wielded by modern archeology....keeps the stakes high throughout." - Publishers Weekly

"Readers who favor historical mysteries as well as those who enjoy modern forensic science will enjoy this one. Fans of Elly Griffiths' Ruth Galloway series will definitely want to meet Sage, as will those who have followed Erin Hart's Haunted Ground, also featuring a forensic archaeologist." - Booklist

"In a departure from her supernatural crime novels (The Secrets of Time and Fate), Alexander carefully constructs an intricately plotted mystery that links story lines of madness and murder. Bittersweet and haunting, this suspenseful story is driven by complex, flawed characters. Fans of Kate Ellis's "Wesley" mysteries and Elly Griffith's atmospheric "Ruth Galloway" novels will enjoy the combination of archaeology and history." - Library Journal Starred Review

"The mystery deepens at a nice pace, keeping me reading to find out more and trying to guess who was behind it all...one of my favorite reads of the year" Criminal Element

"a well-paced, engrossing mystery with sympathetic characters and two timelines that really compliment each other...I was thrilled to see that this is the first book in a new series because I wasn't ready to leave Sage and the other characters that Alexander has created." Kittling Books

"An engrossing read that perfectly blends the historical and contemporary for a brilliant story." The Crime Review

"An engrossing read that perfectly blends the historical and contemporary for a brilliant story." SciFi Movie Page review

"will appeal to readers of Barbara Mertz, Dana Cameron, and Lyn Hamilton. Alexander has a particularly deft way with description" - Buried Under Books

More in Crime & Mystery Fiction

Safe Haven : Our May Book of the Month - Shankari Chandran

RRP $34.99

$19.95

43%
OFF
The Last Devil To Die : The Thursday Murder Club 4 - Richard Osman
The Cryptic Clue : A Tea Ladies Mystery - Amanda Hampson

RRP $34.99

$19.95

43%
OFF
Three-Inch Teeth : Joe Pickett - C.J. Box

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
Lone Wolf - Gregg Hurwitz

Paperback

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
What Happened to Nina? : The No. 1 Bestseller - Dervla McTiernan

RRP $34.99

$19.95

43%
OFF
Storm Child : Cyrus Haven : Book 4 - Michael Robotham

RRP $32.99

$19.95

40%
OFF
Body of Lies - Sarah Bailey

Paperback

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
The Midnight Feast - Lucy Foley

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
Pheasants Nest - Louise Milligan

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
Red River Road - Anna Downes

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
A Refiner's Fire - Donna Leon

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
Westport - James Comey

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
The Year of the Locust - Terry Hayes

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
The World of Miss Marple : A 1000-piece Jigsaw Puzzle - Agatha Christie Ltd