Add free shipping to your order with these great books
A Baby's Bones : Sage Westfield - Rebecca Alexander

A Baby's Bones

By: Rebecca Alexander

Paperback | 1 August 2018

Sorry, we are not able to source the book you are looking for right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

Archaeologist Sage Westfield has been called in to excavate a sixteenth-century well, and expects to find little more than soil and the odd piece of pottery. But the disturbing discovery of the bones of a woman and new-born baby make it clear that she has stumbled onto an historical crime scene, one that is interwoven with an unsettling local legend of witchcraft and unrequited love.

Yet there is more to the case than a four-hundred-year-old mystery.

The owners of a nearby cottage are convinced that it is haunted, and the local vicar is being plagued with abusive phone calls. Then a tragic death makes it all too clear that a modern murderer is at work…
Industry Reviews
"Alexander fuses the secrets of Renaissance-era alchemy and the knowledge wielded by modern archeology....keeps the stakes high throughout." - Publishers Weekly

"Readers who favor historical mysteries as well as those who enjoy modern forensic science will enjoy this one. Fans of Elly Griffiths' Ruth Galloway series will definitely want to meet Sage, as will those who have followed Erin Hart's Haunted Ground, also featuring a forensic archaeologist." - Booklist

"In a departure from her supernatural crime novels (The Secrets of Time and Fate), Alexander carefully constructs an intricately plotted mystery that links story lines of madness and murder. Bittersweet and haunting, this suspenseful story is driven by complex, flawed characters. Fans of Kate Ellis's "Wesley" mysteries and Elly Griffith's atmospheric "Ruth Galloway" novels will enjoy the combination of archaeology and history." - Library Journal Starred Review

"The mystery deepens at a nice pace, keeping me reading to find out more and trying to guess who was behind it all...one of my favorite reads of the year" Criminal Element

"a well-paced, engrossing mystery with sympathetic characters and two timelines that really compliment each other...I was thrilled to see that this is the first book in a new series because I wasn't ready to leave Sage and the other characters that Alexander has created." Kittling Books

"An engrossing read that perfectly blends the historical and contemporary for a brilliant story." The Crime Review

"An engrossing read that perfectly blends the historical and contemporary for a brilliant story." SciFi Movie Page review

"will appeal to readers of Barbara Mertz, Dana Cameron, and Lyn Hamilton. Alexander has a particularly deft way with description" - Buried Under Books

More in Crime & Mystery Fiction

Pheasants Nest - Louise Milligan

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Midnight Feast - Lucy Foley

RRP $32.99

$30.25

Death in the Air - Ram Murali

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Year of the Locust - Terry Hayes

RRP $22.99

$21.90

What Happened to Nina? : The No. 1 Bestseller - Dervla McTiernan
The Kellerby Code : 'Magnificent' Richard Osman - Jonny Sweet
Beautiful Death : DCI Jack Hawksworth: Book 2 - Fiona McIntosh
The Marlow Murder Club - Robert Thorogood

RRP $19.99

$18.95

Trust : Martin Scarsden - Chris Hammer

RRP $22.99

$21.90

Day One - Abigail Dean

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Man Who Died Twice : Thursday Murder Club: Book 2 - Richard Osman
The Last Devil To Die : The Thursday Murder Club 4 - Richard Osman
The Secret : Jack Reacher, Book 28 - Lee Child

RRP $32.99

$30.25

Death Comes to Marlow : Marlow Murder Club - Robert Thorogood
Resurrection Walk : The New Lincoln Lawyer Thriller - Michael Connelly