+612 9045 4394
A A History of Women Philosophers : A History of Women Philosophers Modern Women Philosophers, 1600-1900 Volume 3 - Mary Ellen Waithe

A A History of Women Philosophers

A History of Women Philosophers Modern Women Philosophers, 1600-1900 Volume 3

By: Mary Ellen Waithe (Editor)


Published: 1st March 1991
Ships: 7 to 10 business days
7 to 10 business days
RRP $676.99
or 4 easy payments of $117.06 with Learn more

Other Available Formats (Hide)

  • Paperback View Product Published: 31st December 1989

edited by Mary Ellen Waithe Series: HISTORY OF WOMEN PHILOSOPHERS volume: 3 From the 17th century onwards, increasing numbers of mostly self-educated women became philosophers. The philosophical writings of Anna Maria van Schurman, Margaret Cavendish, Anne Conway, Mary Astell, Catharine Trotter Cockburn, Damaris Cudworth Masham, Harriet Taylor Mill, Harriet Martineau, Margaret Fuller, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Lou Andreas Salome, Germaine de Staehl, Sophie Germain, and Mary Sommerville were influential. Other philosophers, including Queen Kristina of Sweden, Sor Juana Inez de la Cruz, Julie Favre, Clarisse Coignet, Anna Tumarkin, Hortense Allart de Meritens, Sophie Bryant, and Hedwig Bender were less well known. But all demonstrate expertise in many areas of philosophy: epistemology, logic, aesthetics, metaphysics, ethics, political philosophy, philosophy of science, of psychology, of religion, and, of mathematics. They write on such diverse topics as the mystical and the paranormal, the nature of thought, of faith, of morality, of liberty, of logic, and, the rights of women. Together they manifest philosophy's own transition from mysticism to logical positivism. Kluwer Academic Publishers, Dordrecht March 1991 344 pp. Hardbound Dfl.196.00 BrP.78.50 March 1991 344 pp. Paperback Dfl.71.00 BrP.28.50

Chronological Table. Introduction to Volume III; M. E. Waithe. 1. Margaret Cavendish, Duchess of Newcastle; L. Schiebinger. 2. Kristina Wasa, Queen of Sweden; S. Akerman. 3. Anne Finch, Viscountess Conway; L. Frankel. 4. Sor Juana In s de la Cruz; M. C. Morkovsky. 5. Damaris Cudworth Masham; L. Frankel. 6. Mary Astell; K. M. Squadrito. 7. Catharine Trotter Cockburn; M. E. Waithe. 8. Gabrielle Emilie le Tonnelier de Bretueil du Ch telet-Lomont; M. E. Waithe. 9. Mary Wollstonecraft; K. Lindemann. 10. Clarisse Coignet; J. Allen. 11. Antoinette Brown Blackwell; J. S. Murphy. 12. Julie Velten Favre; J. Allen. 13. Women Philosophers of the Seventeenth, Eighteenth and Nineteenth Centuries; M. E. Waithe. Bibliography. Index.

ISBN: 9780792309307
ISBN-10: 0792309308
Audience: Professional
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 302
Published: 1st March 1991
Publisher: Springer
Country of Publication: NL
Dimensions (cm): 25.4 x 17.15  x 1.91
Weight (kg): 0.75
Edition Number: 2