+612 9045 4394
 
World Without End - Ken Follett

Paperback

Published: 27th July 2010
For Ages: 18+ years old
Ships: 3-4 business days
Usually ships in 3-4 business days
RRP $19.99
$9.90
50%
OFF

The #1 "New York Times" bestselling sequel to The Pillars of the Earth.

Ken Follett astonished the literary world with "The Pillars of the Earth," a sweeping epic novel set in twelfth-century England that centered on the building of a cathedral and the men, women, and children whose lives it changed forever. Now, two centuries after the townspeople of Kingsbridge finished building the exquisite edifice, four children slip into the forest and witness a killing-an event that will bind them all by ambition, love, greed, and revenge...

About the Author

Ken Follett is one of the world's most popular authors. He has written sixteen novels, which include Eye of the Needle, The Man from St. Petersburg, Lie Down with Lions, and more recently, Jackdaws, Hornet Flight, and Whiteout. In 1989 he surprised readers by radically changing from a writer of spy thrillers to a historical novelist with The Pillars of the Earth. It was published to rave reviews and bestselling success and eventually became the bestselling of all Ken Follett's books.

REVIEW SNAPSHOT®

by PowerReviews
World Without End
 
4.5

(based on 2 reviews)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (1)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (1)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (0)

Reviewed by 2 customers

Sort by

Displaying reviews 1-2

Back to top

 
5.0

Loved this book when I first read it

By Kate

from Sydney Australia

About Me Bookworm

Verified Buyer

Pros

  • Captures Time And Place
  • Easy To Understand
  • Great For Anyone
  • Original Story
  • Well Written

Cons

    Best Uses

    • Gift
    • Older Readers
    • Travel Reading

    Comments about World Without End:

    All good.

    Comment on this review

     
    4.0

    wonderful tale

    By hurky

    from portland vic au

    About Me Everyday Reader

    Verified Buyer

    Pros

    • Captures Time And Place
    • Great For Anyone
    • Interesting Characters
    • Original Story
    • Well Written

    Cons

      Best Uses

      • Older Readers

      Comments about World Without End:

      if you liked Pillars of the Earth as I did, then this is a must read. another great read.

      Comment on this review

      Displaying reviews 1-2

      Back to top

      The peasants are revolting. Some, anyway. Othersthe good-hearted varlets, churls and nickpurses of Folletts latestare just fine. In a departure from his usual taut, economical procedurals ("Whiteout," 2004, etc.), Follett revisits the Middle Ages in what amounts to a sort of sequel to "The Pillars of the Earth" (1989). The story is leisurely but never slow, turning in the shadow of the great provincial cathedral in the backwater of Kingsbridge, the fraught construction of which was the ostensible subject of the first novel. Now, in the 1330s, the cathedral is a going concern, populated by the same folks who figured in its making: intriguing clerics, sometimes clueless nobles and salt-of-the-earth types. One of the last is a resourceful young girland Folletts women are always resourceful, more so than the menfolkwho liberates the overflowing purse of one of those nobles. Her father has already lost a hand for thievery, but thats an insufficient deterrent in a time of hunger, and a time when the lords were frequently away: at war, in Parliament, fighting lawsuits, or just attending on their earl or king. Thus the need for watchful if greedy bailiffs and tough sheriffs, who make Gwendas grown-up life challenging. Follett has a nice eye for the sometimes silly clash of the classes and the aspirations of the small to become large, as with one aspiring prior who had only a vague idea of what he would do with such power, but he felt strongly that he belonged in some elevated position in life. Alas, woe meets some of those who strive, a fact that touches off a neat little mystery at the beginning of the book, one that plays its way out across the years and implicates dozens of characters. A lively entertainment for fans of "The Once and Future King, The Lord of the Rings" and other multilayered epics. "Kirkus Reviews," Starred Review

      Ken Follett

      Ken Follett was only twenty-seven when he wrote The Eye of the Needle, the award-winning novel which became an international bestseller and a distinguished film. Before that he had been a newspaper reporter and a publishing executive after studying philosophy at University College, London. He has since written eleven equally successful novels and the non-fiction bestseller On Wings of Eagles. He lives with his family in London and Hertfordshire.

      To read Alex’s revealing answers to the Booktopia Book Guru’s TEN TERRIFYING QUESTIONS…and to leave a comment - CLICK HERE

      Visit Ken Follett's Booktopia Author Page


      ISBN: 9780451228376
      ISBN-10: 0451228375
      Audience: General
      For Ages: 18+ years old
      For Grades: 12
      Format: Paperback
      Language: English
      Number Of Pages: 1024
      Published: 27th July 2010
      Country of Publication: US
      Dimensions (cm): 17.0 x 10.7  x 4.1
      Weight (kg): 0.43