1300 187 187
 
When Hungry, Eat - Joanne Fedler

Paperback

Published: 1st May 2010
Ships: 10 to 14 business days
10 to 14 business days
RRP $32.99
$28.95
12%
OFF

eBook View Product

Published: 1st May 2010
Format: ePUB
$10.40

As featured by Toni Whitmont in the May 2010 Booktopia Buzz.

The story of one woman's journey through the emotional minefield that is women's relationship to food - a celebration of small portions, unexpected spiritual wisdom and the gifts of hunger.

By the time Joanne Fedler's fortieth birthday loomed, she'd had it with several trouble-makers who'd been wreaking havoc in the kingdom of her heart for too long. It was time to deport them. In what she initially took to be an unrelated impulse, she figured she could also start to care again about how she looked before the fatty deposits on her rear-end fossilized.

And that's where the idea behind When Hungry, Eat began. Or so she thought.

She started a new eating plan ('a ridiculous euphemism for self-imposed starvation') which took her on a route to a much Greater Hunger - as Lauren van der Post calls it - which had nothing to do with food. What began as a mission to get back into a bikini became a pilgrimage back to faith, which had not been on either her food list or her itinerary.

When Hungry, Eat is a celebration of unexpected spiritual wisdom, small portions and the gifts of hunger.

When Hungry, Eat is a book for anyone who has had to start over… but doesn’t have the time or money to go searching for themselves around the world. In the tradition of Eat, Pray, Love with a hint of French Women Don’t Get Fat, this is an upbeat and humorous book, touching on at times painful subjects with wit and hard-won insight.

About The Author

Joanne Fedler is the author of The Dreamcloth, Secret Mothers' Business (which has sold in excess of 150 000 copies worldwide) and Things Without A Name. She is a motivational speaker and writes for Vogue magazine.

AN EATING MEDITATION, OR SPIRITUAL PRINCIPLES FOR
LOSING WEIGHT,
LEAVING HOME OR LETTING GO


Traveller, there are no paths.
Paths are made by walking.

Aboriginal saying


1. When hungry, eat: Let your needs guide you.
2. Always ask: Make no assumptions. Come with a beginner’s mind. Be open to what is strange and uncertain.
3. Make healthy choices: There are consequences to what and how we choose.
4. Thank the food: Everything we have is the result of sacrifices others have made. We can practise gratitude for whatever is in front of us.
5. There is always enough: Have faith that everything you need in this moment has been given. Trust that there will be more when you need it.
6. Savour the taste: Taste, like the breath, happens in the present moment. Celebrate every mouthful with the question: How is it for me?
7. Slow down: The spaces between mouthfuls, the hunger between meals, grows our awareness of our true nature.
8. Digest: The body knows what to do. Trust it. Give it time.
9. Flush and Wash: Let go of what you don’t need to hold onto anymore.
10. Begin again: Come back, return, recommit.

ISBN: 9781741755732
ISBN-10: 1741755735
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 384
Published: 1st May 2010
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Dimensions (cm): 23.4 x 15.3  x 3.0
Weight (kg): 0.5