1300 187 187
Truth : Winner of the 2010 Miles Franklin Literary Award - Peter Temple


Winner of the 2010 Miles Franklin Literary Award


Published: 30th August 2010
Ships: 5 to 9 business days
5 to 9 business days
RRP $23.95

eBook View Product

Published: 28th September 2009
Format: ePUB

Booktopia Comments

Winner, Miles Franklin Literary Award, 2010
Winner, Vance Palmer Prize for Fiction, Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards, 2010
Winner, General Fiction Book of the Year, ABIA, 2010
Winner, International German Crime Prize, 2012
Shortlisted, Book of the Year, ABIA, 2010

Book Description

At the close of a long day, Inspector Stephen Villani stands in the bathroom of a luxury apartment high above the city. In the glass bath, a young woman lies dead, a panic button within reach.

So begins Truth, the sequel to Peter Temple's bestselling masterpiece, The Broken Shore, winner of the Duncan Lawrie Dagger for Best Crime Novel.

Villani's life is his work. It is his identity, his calling, his touchstone. But now, over a few sweltering summer days, as fires burn across the state and his superiors and colleagues scheme and jostle, he finds all the certainties of his life are crumbling.

Truth is a novel about a man, a family, a city. It is about violence, murder, love, corruption, honour and deceit. And it is about truth.

About The Author

Peter Temple has worked extensively as a journalist and editor for newspapers and magazines in several countries. He has won five Ned Kelly Awards for his novels, and won the world's most prestigious crimewriting prize, the Duncan Lawrie Dagger. In 2010 he was awarded Australia's greatest writing prize, the Miles Franklin Literary Award. His books are published in more than twenty countries.


by PowerReviews

(based on 1 review)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars



  • 4 Stars



  • 3 Stars



  • 2 Stars



  • 1 Stars



Reviewed by 1 customer

Displaying review 1

Back to top


Too gross

By Ros

from Sunshine Coast

About Me Everyday Reader

Verified Buyer



    • Difficult To Follow
    • Disappointing
    • Not What I expected

    Best Uses

      Comments about Truth:

      Only got a third of the way through this book ...it was just too hard to wade through all the swearing and bad language and horror. Beats me how it got a Miles Franklin award.

      Comment on this review

      "The sense of place is stifling in its intensity, and seldom has a waltz of the damned proven so hypnotic." - The Guardian. "Great locations, hard-nosed dialogue and a twisting plot combine to create superb entertainment." - Evening Standard. "What makes Temple so compelling is his divine use of language. The novel is written with grace and subtlety, elegant but also violent, dark and yet suffused with sympathy for the protagonists, cast in dialogue that is both distinctive and surprising." - Daily Mail. "With crackling prose and sparkling dialogue, Temple has fashioned a fast-paced atmospheric police work of genuine class." - Mail on Sunday.

      Peter Temple

      Peter Temple is the author of nine novels, including four books in the Jack Irish series. He has won the Ned Kelly Award for Crime Fiction five times, and his widely acclaimed novels have been published in over twenty countries.

      The Broken Shore won the UK’s prestigious Duncan Lawrie Dagger for the best crime novel of 2007 and Truth won the 2010 Miles Franklin Literary Award, the first time a crime writer has won an award of this calibre anywhere in the world. Temple’s first two novels Bad Debts and Black Tide have been made into films with Guy Pearce starring as Jack Irish.

      Visit Peter Temple's Booktopia Author Page

      ISBN: 9781921656620
      ISBN-10: 192165662X
      Audience: General
      Format: Paperback
      Language: English
      Published: 30th August 2010
      Dimensions (cm): 19.9 x 13.1  x 2.5
      Weight (kg): 19.9
      Edition Number: 1