+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
This Is How It Always Is - Laurie Frankel

This Is How It Always Is

Paperback

Published: 31st January 2017
In Stock. Ships in 1-2 business days from Australia
RRP $32.99
$25.50
23%
OFF

eBook View Product

Published: 26th January 2017
Format: ePUB
$16.99

'A very special book about a family with a secret. It made me laugh, it made me cry, it made me think.' Liane Moriarty, author of TRULY MADLY GUILTY and THE HUSBAND'S SECRET.

All happy families are alike. But happy can be complicated...

Laurie Frankel's THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS is a warm, touching and bittersweet novel about a family that's just like any other - until it's not. For readers of WE ARE ALL COMPLETELY BESIDE OURSELVES and THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY.

Rosie and Penn always wanted a daughter. Four sons later, they decide to try one last time - and their beautiful little boy Claude is born. Life continues happily for this big, loving family until the day when Claude says that, when he grows up, he wants to be a girl.

As far as Rosie and Penn are concerned, bright, funny and wonderful Claude can be whoever he or she wants. But as problems begin at school and in the community, the family faces a seemingly impossible dilemma: should Claude change, or should they and Claude try to change the world?

Warm, touching and bittersweet, THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS is a novel about families, love and how we choose to define ourselves. It will make you laugh and cry - and see the world differently.

Review by Ilse Scheepers

Claude is the youngest son in a family that is already blessed with four boys. He is a bright, kind, thoughtful five year old - and he also wants to grow up to be Poppy.

Frankel herself has a young daughter who began life as a boy, and there is no mistaking the voice of a parent who loves their child deeply and unconditionally, but who also fears for their future in a world where they may not always encounter such kindness and acceptance.

About the Author

Laurie Frankel lives in Seattle with her husband, son and border collie. Before becoming a full-time writer, she taught literature, writing and gender studies at a US university. Her previous novel, The Atlas of Love, has been highly acclaimed: 'This beautifully written debut offers something for everyone - humour, richly drawn characters, and a tender exploration of love, friendship, and food' - Los Angeles Times Magazine.

I was lucky enough to receive an advance reading copy of this very special book about a family with a secret. It made me laugh, it made me cry, it made me think. - Liane Moriarty

A lively and fascinating story of a thoroughly modern family and the giant, multifaceted love that binds them. THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS sparkles with wit and wisdom - Maria Semple

An astonishing balance of humour, complexity, and above all, kindness - Ruth Ozeki

With emotional acuity, admirable bravery, utter compassion, and complete understanding, [Frankel has] created a family attempting to forge a path through one of life's most mystifying challenges: how to define what it is that makes your child who he or she is: unique, beloved, and whole. This is a novel everyone should read. It's brilliant. It's bold. And it's time - Elizabeth George

A beguiling tale of a sprawling, loving, ever-changing, unconventional and yet completely typical modern family... Wonderfully moving - Garth Stein

ISBN: 9781472241597
ISBN-10: 1472241592
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 352
Published: 31st January 2017
Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 23.4 x 15.3  x 2.5
Weight (kg): 0.43
Edition Number: 1