+612 9045 4394
The Storms of War - Kate Williams


Published: 8th July 2014
In Stock. Usually ships in 1-2 business days
RRP $29.99

The first novel in Kate Williams's groundbreaking new historical series which marks the 100 year anniversary of the Great War. For fans of Atonement, Birdsong and Downton Abbey.

In the idyllic early summer of 1914, life is good for the de Witt family. Rudolf and Verena are planning the wedding of their daughter Emmeline, while their eldest son, Arthur, is studying in Paris and Michael is just back from his first term at Cambridge. Celia, the youngest of the de Witt children, is on the brink of adulthood, and secretly dreams of escaping her carefully mapped-out future and exploring the world.

But the onslaught of war changes everything and soon the de Witts find themselves sidelined and in danger of losing everything they hold dear. As Celia struggles to make sense of the changing world around her, she lies about her age to join the war effort and finds herself embroiled in a complex plot that puts not only herself but those she loves in danger.

With gripping detail and brilliant empathy, Kate Williams tells the story of Celia and her family as they are shunned by a society that previously embraced them, torn apart by sorrow, and buffeted and changed by the storms of war.

About the Author

Kate Williams is an author, social historian, constitutional and royal expert, broadcaster and novelist. She has an MA from Queen Mary, University of London, and a DPhil from the University of Oxford. She appears regularly on the BBC and Channel 4. She lives in London.

Extraordinarily well written - INDEPENDENT ON SUNDAY

Intense, intelligent and hugely entertaining, The Pleasures of Men will add Williams to the ranks of queens of contemporary fiction - GUARDIAN

'Mesmerising . . . elegant and compelling' - LADY

An outstanding talent

One of our finest young historians - INDEPENDENT

ISBN: 9781409139928
ISBN-10: 1409139921
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 528
Published: 8th July 2014
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 23.3 x 15.4  x 3.9
Weight (kg): 0.7
Edition Number: 1