1300 187 187
The Stone Key : The Obernewtyn Chronicles : Book 5 - Isobelle Carmody

The Stone Key

The Obernewtyn Chronicles : Book 5


Published: January 2009
For Ages: 12 - 17 years old
In Stock. Usually ships in 1-4 business days
RRP $22.95

eBook View Product

Published: 5th January 2009
Format: ePUB

Booktopia Comments

This is the Australian edition. If you are considering buying the cheaper US editions just keep in mind that in the USA they sell them as 2 parts, the first is Wavesong, ISBN 9780375857713, and the second is The Stone Key, ISBN 9780375857720.

Book Description

There was a great crash and wood splintered . . . I had a brief glimpse of a group of Herder priests, bald and robed, peering at me, and then the sundered remnants of the locker door were torn aside and a rough hand reached in to haul me out by the hair. A Hedra captain stared into my face with eyes that burned with a fanatical fire above a thin nose and a lipless slash of a mouth. . .

'You will die in great pain and very slowly, mutant,' said the Hedra master.

When Farseeker Guildmistress Elspeth Gordie sets out from Obernewtyn to travel to Sutrium at the end of Wintertime, she quickly learns that not everyone welcomes the changes brought about by the rebellion. Capture by an old and vicious enemy, she is drawn into the heart of the Herder Faction, where she learns of a terrible plot to destroy the west coast.

To stop it, Elspeth must risk everything, knowing that if she dies, she will never complete her quest to find the weaponmachines that destroyed the Beforetime.

But if she succeeds, her journey will lead her to the last of the signs left for her by the seer Kasanda . . .

About the Author

Isobelle Carmody is Australia's most highly acclaimed author of fantasy titles for older readers. She began her first book, Obernewtyn, when she was fourteen and since then she has written some of our greatest works of fantasy. She is perhaps best known for her Obernewtyn Chronicles and for her novel The Gathering (joint winner of the 1993 Children's Literature Peace Prize and the 1994 CBC Book of the Year Award). Another of her novels, Greylands, was joint winner of the 1997 Aurealis Award for Excellence in Speculative Fiction - Young Adult Division, and was named a White Raven at the 1998 Bologna Children's Book Fair. She has also written many short stories for both children and adults.

Isobelle divides her time between Prague in the Czech Republic and her home on the Great Ocean Road in Australia.

Isobelle's final book in the award-winning Obernewtyn series – The Sending – will be published in May 2011. Her first book in a new series for younger readers – The Red Wind – will be published in 2010.

ISBN: 9780143009436
ISBN-10: 0143009435
Series: Obernewtyn Chronicles
Audience: Children
For Ages: 12 - 17 years old
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 1008
Published: January 2009
Dimensions (cm): 18.2 x 11.5  x 5.8
Weight (kg): 18.2