1300 187 187
 
The Silent Wife - A. S. A. Harrison

Paperback

Published: 11th February 2014
In Stock. Usually ships in 3-4 business days
RRP $19.99
$13.95
30%
OFF

The collapse of a decades-long relationship has deadly consequences in a novel perfect for readers of Sophe Hannah, Nicci French and Barbara Vine

Todd Gilbert and Jodie Brett are in a bad place in their relationship. They've been together for over twenty years, and with no children to worry about there has been little to disrupt their affluent Chicago lifestyle.

But there has also been little to hold it together, and beneath the surface lie ever-widening cracks. He is a committed cheater. She lives and breathes denial. He exists in dual worlds. She likes to settle scores. He decides to play for keeps. She has nothing left to lose.

When it becomes clear that their precarious world could disintegrate at any moment, Jodie knows she stands to lose everything. It's only now she will discover just how much she's truly capable of...

About the Author

A.S.A. Harrison died of cancer in April 2013, just prior to the publication of The Silent Wife.

REVIEW SNAPSHOT®

by PowerReviews
The Silent Wife
 
4.0

(based on 1 review)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (1)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (0)

Reviewed by 1 customer

Displaying review 1

Back to top

 
4.0

the silent wife

By Debbie Darling

from Adelaide Aus

About Me Casual Reader

Verified Buyer

Pros

  • Great Characters
  • Great Twist
  • Well Written

Cons

    Best Uses

    • Gift
    • Reference
    • Travel Reading

    Comments about The Silent Wife:

    the service was very good

    Comment on this review

    This perfectly pitched debut offers sharp insights into the grievances that accumulate over a long relationship, and the lengths to which a woman will go when her world collapses SUNDAY TIMES Sharp, witty, dark as hell and totally engrossing... A worthy rival to Gone Girl in its psychological complexity and accomplishment DAILY MAIL This will be the book everyone will be talking about by the end of summer, it will be the number one choice for book clubs and well-thumbed copies will be passed between friends and work colleagues with glowing recommendation... The term "must-read" is often bandied around and not always deservedly. The Silent Wife justifies the plaudit without question SUNDAY EXPRESS The slow, murderous disintegration of a marriage is all too believable in A.S.A. Harrison's first - and final - novel... As the novel advances into treacherous territory, Harrison's elegant, incisive prose gets dirtier, more dangerous OBSERVER The Silent Wife attracted much political publicity, but its author died a few weeks ago... The hype was largely justified. It is inevitably being compared with last year's mega-hit, Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl... The Silent Wife is psychologically more interesting THE TIMES The Silent Wife is one of those books you hate to put down. Harrison writes well with a light touch, but her touch is devastating nonetheless... Profoundly disquieting GUARDIAN.CO.UK After Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl, novels about toxic marriages are suddenly in vogue. The Silent Wife is the classiest of the bunch... A smart psychological chiller MAIL ON SUNDAY A hit... and you can see why THE SUN Beautifully written and superbly paced, not to mention full of ingenious twists. Fans of Gone Girl will love it SUNDAY MIRROR SUPERB... As a novel about the dark side of marriage and relationships, it's better than Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl -- SOPHIE HANNAH This summer's blockbuster novel DAILY TELEGRAPH Sharp, psychological and intricate, if you've ever wondered just how far you'd go if you had nothing left to lose, this will make you do a double-take HARPER'S BAZAAR ONLINE Utterly believable, complex, and compelling -- JOJO MOYES Beautifully written and deeply unsettling, this darkly funny examination of what happens when you've got nothing left to lose is also brilliantly addictive. It left me almost breathless as I raced towards the devastating finale -- S.J. WATSON A deliciously wicked pleasure... A very clever, very funny comedy of manners spliced with a domestic thriller -- KATE ATKINSON A terrific debut novel VAL MCDERMID This is an utterly compelling story, gorgeously written and with so many shocks and surprises... I raced through it. My highest recommendation -- TESS GERRITSEN The characterization is exceptionally well done, the writing stylish and mature... this is a very accomplished psychological thriller -- S.J. BOLTON Reminiscent of Gone Girl in that it's written in the alternating voices of the couple, it's every bit as addictive. You'll be thinking about it for months to come -- www.cosmopolitan.co.uk If you enjoyed Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl, you'll love this unsettling psychological thriller SUN ON SUNDAY A gripping psychological thriller DAILY EXPRESS

    ISBN: 9780755399864
    ISBN-10: 0755399862
    Audience: General
    Format: Paperback
    Language: English
    Number Of Pages: 384
    Published: 11th February 2014
    Dimensions (cm): 19.8 x 12.9  x 19.7
    Weight (kg): 0.27