+612 9045 4394
The Shadow of What Was Lost : Licanius Trilogy: Book 1 - James Islington

The Shadow of What Was Lost

Licanius Trilogy: Book 1


Published: 8th November 2016
In Stock. Ships in 1-2 business days from Australia
RRP $32.99

The sensational debut from an author set to become the next major force in commercial epic fantasy


It has been twenty years since the god-like Augurs were overthrown and killed. Now, those who once served them - the Gifted - are spared only because they have accepted the rebellion's Four Tenets, vastly limiting their own powers.

As a young Gifted, Davian suffers the consequences of a war lost before he was even born. He and his friends are despised beyond their school walls for the magical power they wield: a power that Davian, despite his best efforts, cannot seem to control. Worse, with his final test approaching and the consequences of failure severe, time to overcome his struggles is fast running out.

But when Davian discovers he wields the forbidden power of the Augurs, he unwittingly sets in motion a chain of events that will change his life - and shake the entire world.

About the Author

James Islington was born and raised in southern Victoria, Australia. An avid fantasy reader for many years, it was only when he read Brandon Sanderson's Mistborn series that he was finally inspired to write something of his own. He now lives with his wife and daughter on the Mornington Peninsula in Victoria.

Storytelling assurance rare for a debut ... Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire -- GUARDIAN So exciting ... Will appeal not only to The Wheel of Time readers, but to anybody looking for a coming-of-age fantasy tale with likeable characters and strong worldbuilding -- FANTASY FACTION A traditional coming-of-age, saving-the-world epic fantasy in the vein of Tad Williams, Raymond E. Feist (and yes, Robert Jordan). But it also has the flavour of something new ... You'll be left wanting more -- SFX Action aplenty and an ample spattering of violence ... This is a whole new world with a fresh fantasy streak -- SCIFINOW A relentless juggernaut of a book ... Astoundingly intricate worldbuilding -- DAILY MAIL Wonderful worldbuilding and terrific characters -- BOINGBOING Incessant plot twists and a relentless pace -- KIRKUS Love the Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favourite series -- BARNES & NOBLE SF BLOG Complex magic, terrifying threats out of legend, political intrigue, and a large cast of characters ... Fans of doorstop epic fantasy will not be disappointed -- PUBLISHERS WEEKLY Magic, monsters, prophecies, betrayals and revenge ... The first novel by James Islington has it all -- THE ELOQUENT PAGE Definitely a series to watch out for. It has everything you wish in Epic fantasy and a lot more -- THE BOOK PLANK An action-packed nailbiter -- BOOKBAG Relentless pace and exciting plot ... absorbing and impressive -- CULTUREFLY

ISBN: 9780356507767
ISBN-10: 0356507769
Series: Licanius Trilogy
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 608
Published: 8th November 2016
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 23.4 x 15.3  x 5.2
Weight (kg): 0.86
Edition Number: 1