1300 187 187
The Robber Bride - Margaret Atwood


Published: 10th January 1996
In Stock. Usually ships in 3-4 business days
RRP $19.99

'It stirs depths that Cat's Eye did not reach, and grants deeper stronger powers to women's friendship in distress' MARINA WARNER. An exceptional novel from the winner of the 2000 Booker Prize.

Zenia is beautiful, smart and greedy, by turns manipulative and vulnerable, needy and ruthless; a man's dream and a woman's nightmare. She is also dead. Just to make sure Tony, Roz andd Charis are there for the funeral. But five years on, as the three women share an indulgent, sisterly lunch, the unthinkable happens; 'with waves of ill will flowing out of her like cosmic radiation', Zenia is back...

About the Author

Margaret Atwood was born in Ottawa in 1939. She is Canada's most eminent novelist and poet is the author of more than thirty books of fiction, poetry and critical essays. The Handmaid's Tale, Cat's Eye and Alias Grace have all been shortlisted for the Booker Prize and she has won many literary prizes in other countries. Her work has been translated into thirty-three languages. Her latest novel, The Blind Assassin won the 2000 Booker Prize.

This is Margaret Atwood at her sharpest and most subversive. If it is a novel about the power of women's friendship, it is also a novel about the destructive nature of women to women. Three women are joined in friendship through their united dislike of Zenia - man-eater, pathological liar and slut. Zenia gets her kicks from wanting what someone else has, getting what she wants, then no longer wanting what she has taken. They think their enemy, Zenia, is dead. Five years on, as they meet for lunch, Zenia returns. She has destroyed the happiness of each of them once - will she manage it again? Or will they get her before she gets them? Atwood tells the three tales in her usual unflinching, slightly sardonic, beautifully crafted way - the characters of the four women are immediately engaging and read with truth (one of Atwood's consistent skills is to give her characters this sense of absolute verity). The pain they suffer, their forbearance, their willingness to be taken in, and charity towards the always convincing Zenia, makes compelling reading. And her creation of Zenia - every woman's nightmare, every man's dreamboat - is bewitching. Not surprisingly, given the title, it ends as if it were a fairy tale: good is rewarded, bad is punished. The ending is utterly and completely satisfying. You may close the book, turn over, sigh and go comfortably off to sleep, safe in the knowledge that the world deals summarily with monsters. (Kirkus UK)

ISBN: 9781853817229
ISBN-10: 1853817228
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 576
Published: 10th January 1996
Dimensions (cm): 19.8 x 12.6  x 3.2
Weight (kg): 0.38