+612 9045 4394
 
The Last Explorer : Hubert Wilkins, Hero of the Great Age of Polar Exploration - Simon Nasht

The Last Explorer

Hubert Wilkins, Hero of the Great Age of Polar Exploration

Paperback

Published: 1st August 2012
In Stock. Ships in 1-2 business days
RRP $29.95
$21.90
27%
OFF

In the tradition of "The Ice Master and Endurance," here is the incredible story of the first truly modern explorer, whose death-defying adventures and uncommon modesty make this book itself an extraordinary discovery. Hubert Wilkins was the most successful explorer in history--no one saw with his own eyes more undiscovered land and sea. Largely self-taught, Wilkins became a celebrated newsreel cameraman in the early 1900s, as well as a reporter, pilot, spy, war hero, scientist, and adventurer, capturing in his lens war and famine, cheating death repeatedly, meeting world leaders like Lenin and Stalin, and circling the globe on a zeppelin. Apprenticing with the greats of polar exploration, including Shackleton in the Antarctic, Wilkins recognized the importance of new technologies such as the airplane and submarine. He helped map the Canadian Arctic and plumbed the ocean depths from the icecap. A pioneer in the truest sense of the word, he became the first man to fly across the North Pole, which won him a knighthood; the first to fly to the Antarctic and discover land there by airplane; and the first to take a submarine under the Arctic ice. Grasping the link between the poles and changing global weather, Wilkins was a visionary in weather forecasting and the study of global warming. A true hero of the earth, he changed the way we look at our world.

REVIEW SNAPSHOT®

by PowerReviews
Last Explorer
 
5.0

(based on 2 reviews)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (2)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (0)

Reviewed by 2 customers

Displaying reviews 1-2

Back to top

 
5.0

Hard to put down

By 

from Canberra AUSTRALIA

About Me Bookworm

Verified Buyer

Pros

  • Deserves Multiple Readings
  • Easy To Understand
  • Informative
  • Inspirational
  • Relevant
  • Well Written

Cons

    Best Uses

    • Inspirational
    • Reference

    Comments about Last Explorer:

    Several months after Sir Hubert Wilkins' death in November 1958, a US nuclear submarine broke through the Arctic ice sheet and cast his ashes to the biting winds of the North Pole. Hubert's wife outlived him by sixteen years but, on her death, the US navy repeated the voyage under the ice to the North Pole so that the ashes of Suzanne Wilkins could join those of her husband's.

    What was it that impelled the US navy to make the hazardous undersea voyage to the most remote and inhospitable place on Earth not once but twice, to pay tribute to Wilkins and his wife?

    TV and newspaper correspondent, Simon Nasht, has provided the answer in a book which is hard to put down. And at the end of it, every reader, along with Nasht, will ask why it is that the name of Hubert Wilkins has slipped so easily from the pages of history.

    Born and raised in country South Australia where he witnessed the impact of unreliable seasonal rainfall on the fortunes of his father's farm, Hubert Wilkins became a global scientist, explorer, aviator and submariner with a burning desire to better understand the factors which influenced the planet's climate, in the hope that one day mankind would be able to make much better forecasts about future weather patterns.

    For all Australians at least, this book should be compulsory reading - although once started, there will be no need for any element of compulsion to finish it to the very last page.

     
    5.0

    Makes other explorers look like amateurs

    By 

    from bangor

    About Me Casual Reader

    Verified Buyer

    Pros

    • Deserves Multiple Readings
    • Easy To Understand
    • Informative
    • Inspirational
    • Relevant
    • Well Written

    Cons

      Best Uses

      • Gift
      • Older Readers
      • Reference
      • Younger Readers

      Comments about Last Explorer:

      That more people do not know of this amazing man is a crime.Why isn't he taught in schools? Good service and i like when there's no postage, your on a winner there. What are the stats?

      Displaying reviews 1-2

      Back to top

      ISBN: 9781616087173
      ISBN-10: 161608717X
      Audience: General
      Format: Paperback
      Language: English
      Number Of Pages: 346
      Published: 1st August 2012
      Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing
      Country of Publication: US
      Dimensions (cm): 22.6 x 15.2  x 3.0
      Weight (kg): 0.43