1300 187 187
 
The House at Riverton : AKA The Shifting Fog - Kate Morton

The House at Riverton

AKA The Shifting Fog

Paperback

Published: 3rd March 2009
Ships: 10 to 14 business days
10 to 14 business days
RRP $32.00
$19.80
38%
OFF

The House at Riverton is a gorgeous debut novel set in England between the wars. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, it is the story of an aristocratic family, a house, a mysterious death and a way of life that vanished forever, told in flashback by a woman who witnessed it all and kept a secret for decades.

Grace Bradley went to work at Riverton House as a servant when she was just a girl, before the First World War. For years her life was inextricably tied up with the Hartford family, most particularly the two daughters, Hannah and Emmeline.

In the summer of 1924, at a glittering society party held at the house, a young poet shot himself. The only witnesses were Hannah and Emmeline and only they -- and Grace -- know the truth.

In 1999, when Grace is ninety-eight years old and living out her last days in a nursing home, she is visited by a young director who is making a film about the events of that summer. She takes Grace back to Riverton House and reawakens her memories. Told in flashback, this is the story of Grace's youth during the last days of Edwardian aristocratic privilege shattered by war, of the vibrant twenties and the changes she witnessed as an entire way of life vanished forever.

The novel is full of secrets -- some revealed, others hidden forever, reminiscent of the romantic suspense of Daphne du Maurier. It is also a meditation on memory, the devastation of war and a beautifully rendered window into a fascinating time in history.

Originally published to critical acclaim in Australia, already sold in ten countries and a #1 bestseller in England, The House at Riverton is a vivid, page-turning novel of suspense and passion, with characters -- and an ending -- the reader won't soon forget.

"This novel will challenge your definitions of friendship, family and, most of all, trust." -- "Hallmark Magazine"

ISBN: 9781416550532
ISBN-10: 1416550534
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 473
Published: 3rd March 2009
Dimensions (cm): 20.879 x 13.437  x 3.277
Weight (kg): 0.42

Kate Morton

Kate Morton grew up in the mountains of south-east Queensland. She has degrees in dramatic art and English literature and is currently a doctoral candidate at the University of Queensland.

Kate lives with her husband and young sons in Brisbane. Her first novel, The Shifting Fog , published internationally as The House at Riverton, was a number one bestseller in 2007. The Forgotten Garden, her second novel, was also a bestseller in Australia, the UK, the US and in many European countries.

Visit Kate Morton's Booktopia Author Page