1300 187 187
 
The Ghost Bride - Yangsze Choo

Paperback

Published: 1st August 2013
In Stock. Usually ships in 3-4 business days
RRP $16.95
$9.35
45%
OFF

Seventeen-year-old Li Lan lives in 1890s Malaya with her quietly-ruined father, who returns one evening with a proposition - the fabulously wealthy Lim family want Li Lan to marry their son. The only problem is, he's dead.

After a fateful visit to the Lim mansion, Li Lan finds herself haunted not only by her ghostly would-be suitor, but also her desire for the Lims' handsome new heir. At night she is drawn into the Chinese afterlife - a world of ghost cities, paper funeral offerings, monstrous bureaucracy and vengeful spirits. Enlisting the help of mysterious Er Lang (a dragon turned clerk) Li Lan must uncover the secrets of the ghost world - before she becomes trapped there forever.

Drawing on traditional Malayan folklore and superstition, The Ghost Bride is a haunting, exotic and romantic read perfect for fans of Empress Orchid and Memoirs Of A Geisha.

About the Author

Yangsze Choo is a fourth generation Malaysian of Chinese descent. Due to a childhood spent in various countries such as Germany and Japan, she can eavesdrop (badly) in several languages. After graduating from Harvard University, she worked as a management consultant before writing her first novel. The Ghost Bride, set in colonial Malaya and the elaborate Chinese world of the afterlife, is about a peculiar historic custom called a spirit marriage. Yangsze lives in California with her husband, two children, and a potential rabbit. She loves to eat and read, and often does both at the same time.

BOOKTOPIA INTERVIEW: YANGSZE CHOO ANSWERS BOOKTOPIA'S TEN TERRIFYING QUESTIONS - CLICK HERE

ISBN: 9781471401411
ISBN-10: 1471401413
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 400
Published: 1st August 2013