+612 9045 4394
The Fiery Cross  : Outlander Series : Volume 5 - Diana Gabaldon

The Fiery Cross

Outlander Series : Volume 5

Sorry, the book that you are looking for is not available right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, and found some results for you that may be helpful.

eBook View Product

Published: 31st August 2011
Format: ePUB

The eagerly-awaited continuation of the Claire and Jamie Fraser love story that spans time.

North Carolina, 1771: the conflict between the rich colonial planters and the struggling backcountry pioneers is threatening to explode.Jamie Fraser is a man of worth - possessed at last of the land he has longed for. But Jamie has a lot to lose. His wife, Claire, is known notoriously as a wisewoman or a witch. As a traveller from the twentieth century she is all these things and more.

Her unique view of the oncoming Revolution is both a torch that may light Jamie's way in the perilous years ahead or the spark that may ignite a conflagration that will leave their lives in ashes. Claire and Jamie know war only as those can who have survived it can. And they will have to use all that knowledge, and more, to follow the path of the fiery cross to battle once more... and try to survive it if they can.

About the Author

Diana Gabaldon is the international bestselling author of five previous historical novels - Cross Stitch, Dragonfly in Amber, Voyager, Drums Of Autumn and The Fiery Cross, and one work of non-fiction, Through the Stones. She lives with her family and a lot of other assorted wildlife in Scottsdale, Arizona.

The fifth of Gabaldon's magical historical sagas begins in 1770. Claire and Jamie Fraser and her daughter Brianna with her husband and baby son are starting a new life in the back-country of North Carolina. Well-born Jamie, courtesy of his friend the Governor of the Colony, holds the title to a large grant of rugged, uncultivated land in the mountains which he plans to tame, and share with his fellow-exiles. In return he must raise a regiment of fighting men, something which makes him uneasy - he's seen enough of war. Claire, though, knows that another one is coming - and soon. Ever since she learned to 'travel through the stones' from one century to another she's been both helped and plagued by what seems an unnatural prescience and the stored memories of other lives which have given her an education and abilities others lack. Medical experience in the 20th century has endowed her with the skills to heal the sick and injured, but not access to the drugs and equipment she sometimes needs. Even ordinary life in the mountains, with its extreme weather conditions and aggressive wildlife, brings new challenges every day, among them the sheer slog of keeping everyone alive and healthy - and reasonably clean. But if the land they live on is exacting it is also beautiful, and there is a lot of laughter, music, companionship, stimulating talk and conjugal love: tender, erotic and uninhibited. But as time passes Claire becomes increasingly anxious about the coming War of Independence. In the end they must make a choice between the war and another journey through the stones which could be almost as dangerous; and will inevitably lead to yet another unknown place and time. Long as it is, the novel's exuberance, invention and thought-provoking ideas never diminish. It's the kind of book that takes over your life - and stays with you. (Kirkus UK)

Diana Gabaldon

Diana Gabaldon is the author of the award-winning, #1 NYT-bestselling Outlander novels, described by Salon magazine as "the smartest historical sci-fi adventure-romance story ever written by a science Ph.D. with a background in scripting "Scrooge McDuck" comics."

The adventure began in 1991 with the classic Outlander (published as Cross Stitch in the UK) ("historical fiction with a Moebius twist"), has continued through five more New York Times-bestselling novels--Dragonfly in Amber, Voyager, Drums of Autumn, The Fiery Cross, and A Breath of Snow and Ashes—and presently has some seventeen million copies sold worldwide. An Echo in the Bone, to be released in September of 2009, is the seventh—but NOT the last!--novel in the series.

The series, published in 24 countries and 21 languages, includes a nonfiction (well, relatively) companion volume, The Outlandish Companion, which provides details on the settings, background, characters, research, and writing of the novels. Gabaldon (it's pronounced "GAH-bull-dohn"—rhymes with "stone") has also written several books in a sub-series featuring Lord John Grey (a major minor character from the main series): Lord John and the Private Matter, Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade, and Lord John and the the Hand of the Devils).

Returning to her comic-book roots, she has also written a graphic novel titled The Exile (set within the Outlander universe and featuring the main characters from Outlander), illustrated by Hoang Nguyen, to be published by Ballantine in Fall of 2010.

Gabaldon is presently working on the third Lord John novel (Lord John and the Scottish Prisoner), and thinking vague thoughts about the eighth book in the Outlander series. In addition, she is working on a contemporary mystery series, set in Phoenix, and has written Highly Scholarly Introductions (with masses of footnotes) to recent Modern Library editions of Sir Walter Scott's Ivanoe and Thomas Paine's Common Sense.

Dr. Gabaldon holds three degrees in science: Zoology, Marine Biology, and Quantitative Behavioral Ecology, (plus an honorary degree as Doctor of Humane Letters, which entitles her to be "Diana Gabaldon, Ph.D., DHL." She supposes this is better than "Diana Gabaldon, Fed.X") and spent a dozen years as a university professor with an expertise in scientific computation before beginning to write fiction. She has written scientific articles and textbooks, worked as a contributing editor on the MacMillan Encyclopedia of Computers, founded the scientific-computation journal Science Software Quarterly, and has written numerous comic-book scripts for Walt Disney. None of this has anything whatever to do with her novels, but there it is.

She and her husband, Douglas Watkins, have three adult children and live mostly in Scottsdale, Arizona.

Visit Diana Gabaldon's Booktopia Author Page

ISBN: 9780099710011
ISBN-10: 9780606362580
Series: Outlander
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 1424
Published: 2nd September 2002
Publisher: Cornerstone
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 17.8 x 11.1  x 6.8
Weight (kg): 0.74