1300 187 187
 
The Curiosity - Stephen Kiernan

Paperback

Published: 10th June 2014
In Stock. Usually ships in 1-2 business days
RRP $19.99
$13.95
30%
OFF

'I'm green with envy at this writer's bold imagination . . . it's one of the most assured debuts in years.' Justin Cronin, author of The Passage

The Curiosity is a haunting love story in which a man frozen for 100 years wakes up in today's America to be hounded by tabloids, condemned by religious conservatives, and hunted by a presidential candidate while he strives to come to terms with his unique second life - one in which he also falls in love with a beautiful scientist from a century after him.

Maverick scientific genius Erastus Carthage has developed a technique to bring frozen simple-celled animals back to life. But when his Arctic research vessel discovers a body encased in an iceberg, he seizes the chance to apply his pioneering process to a human being. The man Carthage's lad awakens from death is Jeremiah Rice, a Massachusetts judge, who was born in 1868 and fell overboard in 1906.

Jeremiah is an instant celebrity. He is chased by paparazzi, vilified by the religious right, and overwhelmed by a society he sees as brilliant and diverse but also vulgar and violent. As his only ally biologist Kate Philo attempts to protect him from financial and political exploitation, the two fall in love. Meanwhile, Jeremiah's time on earth is slipping away.

For readers of Justin Cronin's The Passage, S J Watson's Before I go to Sleep and Audrey Niffenegger's The Time Traveller's Wife, The Curiosity has also been called 'poignant, luminescent, and absolutely perfect' (Chris Bohjalian, bestselling author of Midwives).

About the Author

Stephen Kiernan is a graduate of John Hopkins University and the University of Iowa Writers' Workshop. Over his twenty years plus as a journalist he has won forty awards, including the Bechner Institute's Freedom of Information Award, the Gerald Loeb Award for financial journalism and the George Polk Award. He lives in Vermont with his two sons. The Curiosity is his first novel.

'A true page-turner, mixing cutting edge science with an all-too-human love story, while simultaneously taking on the Big Questions ... I'm green with envy at this writer's bold imagination. It's one of the most assured debuts in years, a book that will stop your heard and start it again' Justin Cronin, author of The Passage 'I absolutely loved The Curiosity. It's thought-provoking, powerful and the writing is breathtakingly beautiful. And that ending? Poignant, luminescent, and absolutely perfect' Chris Bohjalian, bestselling author of Midwives and The Double Bind Stephen Kiernan's debut does plenty right SFX A thought-provoking love story Glamour I couldn't stop reading this wacky, dazzling flight of imagination Saga Magazine

ISBN: 9781848548787
ISBN-10: 1848548788
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 480
Published: 10th June 2014
Publisher: John Murray General Publishing Division
Dimensions (cm): 19.8 x 12.9  x 3.8
Weight (kg): 0.55
Edition Number: 1