+612 9045 4394
 
The Complete Maus  : A Survivor's Tale : 1st Edition - Art Spiegelman

The Complete Maus

A Survivor's Tale : 1st Edition

Paperback

Published: 24th November 2003
In Stock. Usually ships in 1-2 business days
RRP $35.00
$26.95
23%
OFF

Acclaimed as 'the most affective and successful narrative ever done about the Holocaust ' (Wall Street Journal) and 'the first masterpiece in comic book history' (New Yorker), Maus is the story of Vladek Spiegelman, a Jewish survivor of Hitler's Europe, and his son, a cartoonist, coming to terms with his father's story. Against the backdrop of guilt brought by survival, they stage a normal life of small arguments and unhappy visits. An astonishing retelling of the twentieth-century's grisliest news, Maus studies the bloody paw-prints of history and tracks its meaning for all of us.

About the Author

Art Spiegelman is a contributing editor and artist for the New Yorker. His drawings and prints have been exhibited in museums and galleries around the world. He won the Pulitzer Prize for Maus, and a Guggenheim fellowship. It was also nominated for the National Book Critics Award. He lives in New York.

REVIEW SNAPSHOT®

by PowerReviews
The Complete Maus
 
4.3

(based on 4 reviews)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (1)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (3)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (0)

100%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Pros

  • Deserves multiple readings (4)
  • Engaging characters (3)

Cons

No Cons

Best Uses

  • Older readers (3)
    • Reviewer Profile:
    • Bookworm (3)

Reviewed by 4 customers

Displaying reviews 1-4

Back to top

 
5.0

EXCELLENT

By 

from Adelaide South Australia

About Me Bookworm

Verified Buyer

Pros

  • Deserves Multiple Readings
  • Engaging Characters
  • Well Written

Cons

    Best Uses

    • Gift
    • Older Readers

    Comments about The Complete Maus:

    This was a required Uni Book (Flinders University Adelaide) to read and I loved the format and the storyline so much that I went out and borrowed the Authors follow on book, METAMAUS.
    A great graphic novel to explain some of the Holocaust story for those who may not read a word book on the topic. Also and excellent memoir.

     
    4.0

    Remarkable

    By 

    from Gunnedah AU

    About Me Bookworm

    Verified Buyer

    Pros

    • Confronting
    • Deserves Multiple Readings
    • Engaging Characters
    • Suspenseful
    • Thought Provoking
    • Well Written

    Cons

    • Upsetting

    Best Uses

    • Older Readers

    Comments about The Complete Maus:

    A thoughtfully written masterpiece very challenging concept

     
    4.0

    Pulitzer Prize winning graphic novel

    By 

    from Melbourne

    About Me Bookworm

    Verified Buyer

    Pros

    • Deserves Multiple Readings

    Cons

      Best Uses

      • Older Readers
      • Younger Readers

      Comments about The Complete Maus:

      This is studied currently by VCE students in Victoria. There are reasons why that is so, and reasons as to why it was awarded the Pulitzer Prize. In a simple and easy to read format it is a book that rewards thought and contemplation. Highly recommended.

       
      4.0

      Great graphic novel. Very informative about holocaust

      By 

      from Canberra, AU

      About Me Casual Reader

      Verified Buyer

      Pros

      • Deserves Multiple Readings
      • Engaging Characters
      • Informative

      Cons

        Best Uses

        • Education Text
        • Travel Reading
        • Younger Readers

        Comments about The Complete Maus:

        One of the best true story based graphic novels ever written. Would make an excellent tool for educating children and teens about the holocaust and experiences of victims thereof.

        Displaying reviews 1-4

        Back to top

        The first masterpiece in comic book history New Yorker One of the cliches about the Holocaust is that you can't imagine it - Spiegelman disproves this theory Independent A brutally moving work of art Boston Globe In the tradition of Aesop and Orwell, it serves to shock and impart powerful resonance to a well-documented subject. The artwork is so accomplished, forceful and moving TimeOut Spiegelman has turned the exuberant fantasy of comics inside out by giving us the most incredible fantasy in comics' history: something that actually occurred. Maus is terrifying not for its brutality, but for its tenderness and guilt New Yorker An epic story told in tiny pictures New York Times The most affecting and successful narrative ever done about the Holocaust Wall Street Journal Maus is a book that cannot be put down, truly, even to sleep...when you finish Maus, you are unhappy to have left that magical world and long for the sequel that will return you to it -- Umberto Eco A remarkable feat of documentary detail and novelistic vividness...an unfolding literary event New York Times Book Review The Pulitzer Prize-winning Maus tells the story of Vladek Spiegelman, a Jewish survivor of Hitler's Europe, and his son, a cartoonist coming to terms with his father's story. Maus approaches the unspeakable through the diminutive. Its form, the cartoon (the Nazis are cats, the Jews mice), shocks us out of any lingering sense of familiarity and succeeds in 'drawing us closer to the bleak heart of the Holocaust' New York Times A quiet triumph, moving and simple - impossible to describe accurately, and impossible to achieve in any medium but comics Washington Post All too infrequently, a book comes along that' s as daring as it is acclaimed. Art Spiegelman's Maus is just such a book Esquire A remarkable work, awesome in its conception and execution... at one and the same time a novel, a documentary, a memoir, and a comic book. Brilliant, just brilliant -- Jules Feiffer Maus is a masterpiece, and it's in the nature of such things to generate mysteries, and pose more questions than they answer. But if the notion of a canon means anything, Maus is there at the heart of it. Like all great stories, it tells us more about ourselves than we could ever suspect -- Philip Pullman Spiegelman's Maus changed comics forever. Comics now can be about anything -- Alison Bechdel Reading [his work] has been an amazing lesson in storytelling Etgar Keret It can be easy to forget how much of a game-changer Maus was. Washington Post

        ISBN: 9780141014081
        ISBN-10: 0141014083
        Audience: General
        Format: Paperback
        Language: English
        Number Of Pages: 296
        Published: 24th November 2003
        Country of Publication: GB
        Dimensions (cm): 22.9 x 17.1  x 1.7
        Weight (kg): 0.67
        Edition Number: 1