1300 187 187
 
The Collected Works of A.J. Fikry - Gabrielle Zevin

The Collected Works of A.J. Fikry

Paperback

Published: 25th March 2014
In Stock. Usually ships in 1-2 business days
RRP $26.99
$21.50
20%
OFF

A small book with big emotions, this charming, unusual and moving novel is for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Major Pettigrew's Last Stand.

AJ Fikry owns a failing bookshop. His wife has just died, in tragic circumstances. His rare and valuable first edition has been stolen. His life is a wreck. Amelia is a book rep, with a big heart, and a lonely life. Maya is the baby who ends up on AJ's bookshop floor with a note. What happens in the bookshop that changes the lives of these seemingly normal but extraordinary characters?

This is the story of how unexpected love can rescue you and bring you back to real life, in a world that you won't want to leave, with characters that you will come to love.

About the Author

Gabrielle Zevin was raised by parents who took her to the library like it was church. She suspects that is why she became a writer. Her career began at age fourteen when an angry letter to her local newspaper about a Guns 'n' Roses concert resulted in a job as a music critic.

REVIEW SNAPSHOT®

by PowerReviews
The Collected Works of A.J. Fikry
 
4.0

(based on 2 reviews)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (2)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (0)

Reviewed by 2 customers

Sort by

Displaying reviews 1-2

Back to top

 
4.0

A light and entertaining read

By Ellen

from Perth

About Me Everyday Reader

Verified Buyer

Pros

  • Engaging Characters
  • Page Turner
  • Well Written

Cons

    Best Uses

    • Gift
    • Travel Reading

    Comments about The Collected Works of A.J. Fikry:

    Great Book Club choice following several 'heavy' and 'intellectual' choices, and was considered to be very entertaining though parts of it were a little 'fluffy' and predictable. Paragraph openers by AJ Fikry were interesting and well considered and provided a good stock of possible future reading material. We applauded the sentiments of keeping paper book suppliers in business by supporting local book sellers rather than e-books.

    Comment on this review

     
    4.0

    Quirky Firky

    By CoffeeKate

    from Toowoomba

    About Me Bookworm

    Verified Buyer

    Pros

    • Engaging Characters

    Cons

      Best Uses

      • Older Readers
      • Travel Reading

      Comments about The Collected Works of A.J. Fikry:

      Lovely, quirky book. Well worth the read.

      Comment on this review

      Displaying reviews 1-2

      Back to top

      Zevin has done something old-fashioned and fairly rare these days. She has written an entertaining novel, modest in its scope, engaging and funny without being cloying or sentimental. On top of all that, it is marvelously optimistic about the future of books and bookstores and the people who love both Washington Post Packed with the love of a life lived around books Metro

      ISBN: 9781408704622
      ISBN-10: 1408704625
      Audience: General
      Format: Paperback
      Language: English
      Number Of Pages: 256
      Published: 25th March 2014
      Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
      Dimensions (cm): 21.5 x 13.5  x 1.8
      Weight (kg): 0.28
      Edition Number: 1