Storm and Grace - Kathryn Heyman

Storm and Grace

Paperback

In Stock. Ships in 1-2 business days from Australia
RRP $29.99
$24.95
17%
OFF

Booktopia Comments

Review by Ilse Scheepers

Kathryn Heyman has written a provocative, gripping tale of lust, control and the hatred that masquerades as love in this dazzling novel.

Centred around the world of freediving, it had me constantly pausing to take a breath, relax my shoulders, and shake off the feelings of claustrophobia and terror I felt as the relationship between Storm and Grace spiralled down, down, down into the dark, pressing depths of obsession and danger.

Heyman writes with an unflinching eye to the harmful lies we tell young women about the form love takes, and what to expect from a suitor. A timely, unsettling read.

Product Description

Their love knows no limits - but the further you go, the more dangers there are. Love becomes obsession and lust becomes control. A riveting thriller in the tradition of Gone Girl and Before I Go to Sleep.

... she is screaming, the way he wanted, the way he promised she would ...

World-famous freediver Storm Hisray hits Grace Cain like a bolt from the blue. Instantly smitten, she abandons her life in the city to follow him to his idyllic Pacific island. There he teaches Grace the ways of the deep, and she learns to sink to unimaginable depths on one single breath. As their world narrows to the two of them, she learns, too, the exquisite pleasures of her body – but also that Storm hides as many secrets as the sea.

As he pushes Grace further and further beyond her limits – both in and out of the water – her resistance grows, but so does Storm’s need to control her. With a secret of her own to protect, Grace starts to realise that she is in deeper and more dangerous water than she has ever imagined possible.

Brilliant, mesmerising, incendiary and haunting, Storm and Grace explores the dazzling thrill of the deep, and the terrors that lie in its shadows.

About the Author

Kathryn Heyman is the author of five novels, including Floodline, The Accomplice and Captain Starlight's Apprentice, published internationally and in translation. She has received an Arts Council of England Writer's Award, the Wingate and the Southern Arts Awards, and been nominated for the Orange Prize for Fiction, the Scottish Writer of the Year Award, the Edinburgh Fringe Critics' Award, the Kibble Literary Award, and the West Australian Premier's Book Awards. She has written several radio plays for BBC radio, including adaptations of her own work and is the director of the Australian Writers Mentoring Program.

Share This Book