+612 9045 4394
Slapstick or Lonesome No More - Kurt Vonnegut

Slapstick or Lonesome No More

Sorry, the book that you are looking for is not available right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, and found some results for you that may be helpful.

eBook View Product

Published: 23rd February 2010
Format: ePUB

Manhattan has become the Island of Death. The former President of the United States stands barefoot in a purple toga around a cooking fire in the lobby of the Empire State Building. He is Dr Wilbur Daffodil-II Swain and Slapstick or Lonesome No More! is his story - one of monstrous twins, orgies, revenge, golf, utopian schemes, and very little tooth brushing. In this post-apocalyptic black comedy - dedicated to Laurel and Hardy - Vonnegut is at his most hilarious, grotesque, and personal.

Plus ca change, well just what? Well, the "And so ons" and "ETCs" of Breakfast of Champions to Hi Ho, even if he was going to give up Hi Ho after about the fifth one. This is Vonnegut as you knew and loved him, or didn't, with the reductivist simplicities and more than faintly identifiable referrals and the one-pea-in-a-peapod story. As daydreamed by Kurt en route to the funeral of his uncle with his older brother (a "couple of nice old Andy Gumps" - he finessed you out of that comic strip put-down, didn't he?). The fantasy's about a crazed old pediatrician-centenarian Wilbur Daffodil-II Swain who had a twin sister Eliza and when they put their heads together they were geniuses and when they were apart they were very slow non-learners. But finally the're separated for good and Wilbur - with the help of tribenzo-Deportamils and his Lonesome No More slogan - becomes President of the US. "This is truly the work of children." Truly. But then you'll either accord it a smile or a hi-ho-hum in the bum since reactions to Vonnegut are as immiscible as oil and rosewater. (Kirkus Reviews)

Kurt Vonnegut

Kurt Vonnegut was born in Indianapolis in 1922. He studied at the universities of Chicago and Tennessee and later began to write short stories for magazines. His first novel, Player Piano, was published in 1951 and since then he has written many novels, among them: The Sirens of Titan (1959), Mother Night (1961), Cat's Cradle (1963), God Bless You Mr Rosewater (1964), Welcome to the Monkey House ; a collection of short stories (1968), Breakfast of Champions (1973), Slapstick , or Lonesome No More (1976), Jailbird (1979), Deadeye Dick (1982), Galapagos (1985), Bluebeard (1988) and Hocus Pocus (1990). During the Second World War he was held prisoner in Germany and was present at the bombing of Dresden, an experience which provided the setting for his most famous work to date, Slaughterhouse Five (1969). He has also published a volume of autobiography entitled Palm Sunday (1981) and a collection of essays and speeches, Fates Worse Than Death (1991).

Visit Kurt Vonnegut's Booktopia Author Page

ISBN: 9780099842705
ISBN-10: 009984270X
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 176
Published: 6th December 1991
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 19.7 x 13.1  x 1.2
Weight (kg): 0.14
Edition Number: 1