1300 187 187
Shadow of a Dark Queen : The Serpentwar Saga : Book 1 - Raymond E. Feist

Shadow of a Dark Queen

The Serpentwar Saga : Book 1


Published: May 1995
Ships: 5 to 9 business days
5 to 9 business days
RRP $16.99

The astonishing first volume in Raymond E. Feist's bestselling Serpentwar series! Ancient powers are readying themselves for a devastating confrontation, and a dark queen has raised a standard and is gathering armies of unmatched might. Into this battleground of good and evil a band of desperate men are forced whose only hope for survival is to face this ancient power and discover its true nature.

Their quest is at best dangerous and at worst suicidal. Among them are some unlikely heroes - Erik, a bastard heir denied his birthright, and his friend Roo, an irrepressible scoundrel with a penchant for thievery are accompanied by the mysterious Miranda upon whom all must wager their lives. She appears to be an ally but also possess a hidden agenda and may prove to be a more deadly foe when the final confrontation is at hand!


Praise for Raymond E. Feist: 'File under guilty pleasure' Guardian 'Get in at the start of a master's new series' Daily Sport 'Well-written and distinctly above average! intelligent! intriguing.' Publishers Weekly ' Epic scope!vivid imagination!a significant contribution to the growth of the field of fantasy.' Washington Post

About the Author

Feist is one of the world's leading fantasy writers. His Riftwar and Serpentwar Sagas have been global bestsellers for years. Born and raised in Southern California, Raymond E. Feist was educated at the University of California, San Diego, where he graduated with honours in Communication Arts. He is the author of the bestselling and critically acclaimed Riftwar Saga.

Feist (The King's Buccaneer, 1992, etc.) returns to the enchanted world of Midkemia to begin a new series, The Serpent War Saga. A blacksmith's apprentice in the town of Ravensburg, young Erik von Darkmoor faces his most pressing problem: how to endure his mother's annual public confrontation with his father, the Baron, and her insistence that the Baron recognize Erik as his legitimate heir. Life becomes considerably more complex when Erik and his friend Roo avenge the rape of a friend by killing Erik's half-brother, the Baron's chosen heir. Fugitives, Erik and Roo are captured and sentenced to die but are spared at the last minute and impressed into an elite fighting corps composed of equally desperate men. Their mission is to move against the conquering army of the Emerald Queen, an army of mercenaries led by the Pantathians, reptilian creatures with magical powers. Erik's company of 60 men is to infiltrate the Emerald Queen's seemingly invincible army, ascertain any weaknesses, and report back to the King of the Western Lands. The company is aided in their task by the intervention of magicians, the leadership of elves, the ingenuity of various members of the company, and a fair amount of luck. Fast action, appealing characters, and a splendid setting will delight readers of fantasy and leave them eager for the next battle. (Kirkus Reviews)

ISBN: 9780006480266
ISBN-10: 0006480268
Series: Serpent War Saga
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 576
Published: May 1995
Dimensions (cm): 17.4 x 17.2  x 3.6
Weight (kg): 0.3