+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat : Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking - Samin Nosrat

Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat

Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking

By: Samin Nosrat, Wendy MacNaughton (Illustrator)

Hardcover

Published: 25th April 2017
In Stock. Ships in 1-2 business days from Australia
RRP $70.00
$47.90
32%
OFF

A visionary new master class in cooking that distills decades of professional experience into just four simple elements, from the woman declared "America's next great cooking teacher" by Alice Waters.

In the tradition of The Joy of Cooking and How to Cook Everything comes Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat, an ambitious new approach to cooking by a major new culinary voice. Chef and writer Samin Nosrat has taught everyone from professional chefs to middle school kids to author Michael Pollan to cook using her revolutionary, yet simple, philosophy. Master the use of just four elements-Salt, which enhances flavor; Fat, which delivers flavor and generates texture; Acid, which balances flavor; and Heat, which ultimately determines the texture of food-and anything you cook will be delicious. By explaining the hows and whys of good cooking, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will teach and inspire a new generation of cooks how to confidently make better decisions in the kitchen and cook delicious meals with any ingredients, anywhere, at any time.

Echoing Samin's own journey from culinary novice to award-winning chef, Salt, Fat Acid, Heat immediately bridges the gap between home and professional kitchens. With charming narrative, illustrated walkthroughs, and a lighthearted approach to kitchen science, Samin demystifies the four elements of good cooking for everyone. Refer to the canon of 100 essential recipes-and dozens of variations-to put the lessons into practice and make bright, balanced vinaigrettes, perfectly caramelized roast vegetables, tender braised meats, and light, flaky pastry doughs.

Featuring 150 illustrations and infographics that reveal an atlas to the world of flavor by renowned illustrator Wendy MacNaughton, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will be your compass in the kitchen. Destined to be a classic, it just might be the last cookbook you'll ever need.

With a foreword by Michael Pollan.

About the Author

Samin Nosrat is a writer, teacher, and chef. Called “a go-to resource for matching the correct techniques with the best ingredients” by The New York Times, and “the next Julia Child” by NPR’s All Things Considered, she’s been cooking professionally since 2000, when she first stumbled into the kitchen at Chez Panisse restaurant. She lives, cooks, surfs, and gardens in Berkeley, California. Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat is her first book.

"Nosrat's beautiful, approachable book demonstrates how these four are the only elements necessary to make delicious meals anywhere, any time." - Rapid City Journal

ISBN: 9781476753836
ISBN-10: 1476753830
Audience: General
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 480
Published: 25th April 2017
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 23.1 x 19.6  x 3.6
Weight (kg): 1.23