+612 9045 4394
 
Redstone Station - Therese Creed

Paperback

Published: 1st August 2013
In Stock. Ships in 1-2 business days from Australia
$34.25

eBook View Product

Published: 28th April 2013
Format: ePUB
RRP $17.99
$14.50
19%
OFF

A novel full of romance and drama about a strong young woman who needs all the determination she can muster to prove herself as a farmer - and finds love along the way.

Alice Wilson is happy to be returning home to Redstone Station after two years at Ag College. On various placements at farms and stations during her college days she's been shocked by some of the attitudes to women. By contrast, her grandfather Sam has always treated her as an equal.

For his part, Sam is delighted to have his granddaughter back on board. In shaping Alice he and his wife tried to avoid the mistakes they made bringing up her mother, Lara, and Alice has more than lived up to their expectations, graduating from college with flying colours. Sam now sees Alice as the key to taking Redstone Station into a successful future.

Exceptionally hard-working, with an instinctive understanding of animals and a natural aptitude for farming, Alice is determined to justify her grandfather's faith in her. But will the arrival of stockman Jeremy, a good-looking larrikin with a bad boy reputation, throw her - and the path of Redstone Station - off track?

In the tradition of Fleur McDonald and Nicole Alexander, this inspirational outback novel is the story of a woman who'll do everything to preserve her family's proud farming heritage.

About the Author

Therese Creed grew up in Sydney, one of nine children. From an early age she loved horses and a dream of one day living in the bush. After leaving school she became a primary school teacher for four years before deciding to take a break and spend some time riding a trail from Victoria to Queensland. During a 5 -month pit-stop she met a local farmer, Cedric Creed, who joined her riding further north to Cooktown. After marrying Cedric, Therese came involved in the running of the family cattle station. She now knows a fair bit about fighting fires, pulling windmills, driving trucks and tractors, shoeing horses and fencing. She divides her time between helping out on the station and bringing up her four young children.

REVIEW SNAPSHOT®

by PowerReviews
Redstone Station
 
4.3

(based on 4 reviews)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (1)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (3)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (0)

100%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Pros

  • Engaging characters (4)
  • Deserves multiple readings (3)
  • Well written (3)

Cons

No Cons

Best Uses

No Best Uses

Reviewed by 4 customers

Displaying reviews 1-4

Back to top

 
5.0

This book never gathers dust

By 

from Townsville, Queensland

About Me Bookworm

Pros

  • Deserves Multiple Readings
  • Engaging Characters
  • Well Written

Cons

  • Not the Author's Best

Best Uses

    Comments about Redstone Station:

    This is the book I read when I want to feel like I'm at home again. I guess you'd call this genre my guilty pleasure, but is it guilty if you'd freely recommend it to the world? If you want an idea of the real life of a girl on the land and the cheeky so-and-so she shares it with, you can't go past Redstone Station; it's realistic, gritty and beautifully showcases it's characters and settings in a page-turning read set to the magic of rural Queensland stations

     
    4.0

    great read so far

    By 

    from lake albert

    About Me Casual Reader

    Verified Buyer

    Pros

    • Deserves Multiple Readings
    • Engaging characters
    • Well Written

    Cons

      Best Uses

      • Gift

      Comments about Redstone Station:

      i have read all of fleur mcdonald books and passed them on to my 79yr old mother they are great ,now i am reading readstone station by Therese Creed,not finished as yet but mum asking for the next book.i better get reading.

       
      4.0

      would buy this type again

      By 

      from narromine australia

      About Me Casual Reader

      Verified Buyer

      Pros

      • Engaging characters

      Cons

        Best Uses

        • Older Readers

        Comments about Redstone Station:

        was a good story

        (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

         
        4.0

        Real Counrty Read

        By 

        from Kindred, Tasmania

        About Me Everyday Reader

        Verified Buyer

        Pros

        • Deserves Multiple Readings
        • Easy To Read
        • Engaging characters
        • Page-Turner
        • Well Written

        Cons

          Best Uses

            Comments about Redstone Station:

            Country Novel Great Characters Page Turner

            Displaying reviews 1-4

            Back to top

            ISBN: 9781743313336
            ISBN-10: 1743313330
            Audience: General
            Format: Paperback
            Language: English
            Number Of Pages: 368
            Published: 1st August 2013
            Publisher: Allen & Unwin
            Country of Publication: AU
            Dimensions (cm): 23.4 x 15.3  x 3.0
            Weight (kg): 0.45
            Edition Number: 1