+612 9045 4394
Rebellion : The Tainted Realm : Book 2 - Ian Irvine


The Tainted Realm : Book 2


Published: 9th October 2012
Ships: 10 to 15 business days
10 to 15 business days
RRP $32.99

eBook View Product

Published: 9th October 2012
Format: ePUB

The second instalment in the highly acclaimed fantasy Tainted Realm trilogy.

The war has been lost. Hightspall has fallen. The Cythonian enemy, led by their reincarnated sorcerer-king, Lyf, are determined to wipe it off the map and build their ancient realm anew.

TALI, an escaped slave who bears the master pearl within her, is held captive by an embittered chancellor so he can take her healing blood.

RIX, now known as Deadhand, has lost everything and is running for his life. He is determined to redeem himself and save his beloved country, but an obsession with his ancestor Axil Grandys, the legendary founder of Hightspall, is leading Rix on a one-way path to catastrophe.

When Tali discovers that her enslaved people face genocide at the hands of the enemy, she conceives a desperate plan. To sneak into Cython, rouse the slaves to rebellion and use the master pearl to attack the enemy from within. But before she can hope to save her people, Tali has to confront her own darkest fear - a return to slavery.

About the Author

Ian Irvine has worked in many countries in the Asia-Pacific region. An expert in marine pollution, he has developed some of Australia's national environmental guidelines. Ian is married and lives in the mountains of northern New South Wales.

The story really takes off...the end will have you eagerly anticipating the next book in the series. - Good Reading on VENGEANCE

A compelling tale of vengeance, loyalty, and the search for a place in the world. - Library Journal on VENGEANCE

That Grand Master of the vast epic is with us again! The first gripping volume of what promises to be a vintage Irvine treat. More please! - Aurealis Express on VENGEANCE

Credible, flawed characters, splendidly nasty baddies and a richly interwoven story. Great stuff! - Aurealis Express

This stunning sequel surpassed all my expectations and left me in awe of Irvine's writing and world building skills. - Speconspecfic.com

Exquisitely written. Even better than the first. - Katherine Stubbs, Sentientonline.net

Ian Irvine

Ian Irvine is a marine scientist who has developed some of Australia's national guidelines for the protection of the oceanic environment, and still works in this field. He has written 29 novels to date, including the international bestselling 11-book fantasy sequence, The Three Worlds, an eco-thriller trilogy about catastrophic climate change, and 12 books for children and young adults.

Ian grew up in a forest and spent his entire childhood reading books and climbing trees (and frequently both at once, to the terror of his parents). He had no interest in writing as he'd always wanted to be a scientist. After much procrastination and mucking around Ian gained a Ph. D. from the University of Sydney, somehow becoming an expert in the management of contaminated sediments in the process. Work has since taken him all across the eastern hemisphere, including to such idyllic locations as Mauritius, Bali, Fiji and Western Samoa. This provided absolutely no inspiration for his books as Ian prefers to send his characters to unpleasant places, there tormenting them to the limit of human ingenuity.

Ian began the creation of his Three Worlds fantasy environment in the late 1970's, as an escape from the rigours (more correctly, horrors) of writing his doctoral thesis. Before he'd finished world-building, Ian had covered the walls of his flat , and his thesis was a year and a half late.

Science proved insufficient. Beset by creative urges that by 1987 had become irresistible, Ian got out his maps and histories and began writing the first book of what was to become his 'Darwinian' fantasy quartet, The View from the Mirror. He worked on it continually until the final volume was published in 1999, and has been a full-time writer ever since.

Ian lives with his family in the mountains of northern NSW. He is currently editing Justice, the final book in his fantasy trilogy, The Tainted Realm. He's also doing the initial planning for his new Three Worlds series, which will be a direct sequel to The View from the Mirror and will finally answer the question of what happened to Karan and Llian, and their children. Among other things.

Visit Ian Irvine's Booktopia Author Page

ISBN: 9780733624285
ISBN-10: 0733624286
Series: The Tainted Realm
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 455
Published: 9th October 2012
Publisher: Hachette Australia
Country of Publication: AU
Dimensions (cm): 23.4 x 15.3  x 4.2
Weight (kg): 0.72
Edition Number: 1