+612 9045 4394
 
Murder in the Telephone Exchange - June Wright

Murder in the Telephone Exchange

Paperback

Published: 1st November 2013
In Stock. Usually ships in 1-2 business days
RRP $24.95
$16.25
35%
OFF

eBook View Product

Published: 17th February 2014
Format: PDF
$23.75

First published in 1948, when it was the best-selling mystery of the year in the author’s native Australia, Murder in the Telephone Exchange stars feisty young operator Maggie Byrnes. When one of her more unpopular colleagues is murdered — her head bashed in with a “buttinsky,” a piece of equipment used to listen in on phone calls — Maggie resolves to turn sleuth. Some of her coworkers are acting strangely, and Maggie is convinced she has a better chance of figuring out who is responsible for the killing than the rather stolid police team assigned to the case, who seem to think she herself might have had something to do with it. But then one of her friends is murdered too, and it looks like Maggie might be next. Narrated with verve and wit, this is a whodunit in the tradition of Dorothy L. Sayers and Daphne du Maurier, by turns entertaining and suspenseful, and building to a gripping climax.

About the Author

June Wright (1919–2012) was born in Melbourne, Australia, and in her lifetime published six mystery novels, beginning with Murder in the Telephone Exchange in 1948.

REVIEW SNAPSHOT®

by PowerReviews
Murder in the Telephone Exchange
 
3.0

(based on 2 reviews)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (1)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (1)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (0)

Reviewed by 2 customers

Sort by

Displaying reviews 1-2

Back to top

(1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

 
4.0

A great read!

By 

from Kempsey, AU

About Me Bookworm

Verified Buyer

Pros

  • Engaging Characters
  • Page Turner
  • Suspenseful
  • Well Written

Cons

    Best Uses

    • Gift
    • Older Readers

    Comments about Murder in the Telephone Exchange:

    This was a pleasant surprise - a new (to me!) Australian crime author - very evocative of Melbourne in the 1940s, and a great read! Looking forward to reading her other two books to be released in December

    Comment on this review

     
    2.0

    don;t judge a book by it's cover

    By 

    from mallee

    About Me Everyday Reader

    Verified Buyer

    Pros

      Cons

      • Disappointing

      Best Uses

        Comments about Murder in the Telephone Exchange:

        wasn't what I thought it would be, found it really hard to get into, didn't bother to finish.

        Comment on this review

        Displaying reviews 1-2

        Back to top

        "A classic English-style mystery with a perky heroine reminiscent of Georgette Heyer s clever sleuths, packed with detail and menace." ("Kirkus Reviews," April 1, 2014) "An engaging porthole into the past, with lively characters and inventive plotting." ("Publishers Weekly," April 7, 2014)"

        ISBN: 9781891241376
        ISBN-10: 1891241370
        Audience: General
        Format: Paperback
        Language: English
        Number Of Pages: 330
        Published: 1st November 2013
        Country of Publication: US
        Dimensions (cm): 20.3 x 13.5  x 1.9
        Weight (kg): 0.4