1300 187 187
 
Murder in the Telephone Exchange - June Wright

Murder in the Telephone Exchange

Paperback

Published: 24th June 2014
In Stock. Usually ships in 3-4 business days
RRP $24.95
$18.80
25%
OFF

eBook View Product

Published: 17th February 2014
Format: PDF
$18.25

First published in 1948, when it was the best-selling mystery of the year in the author’s native Australia, Murder in the Telephone Exchange stars feisty young operator Maggie Byrnes. When one of her more unpopular colleagues is murdered — her head bashed in with a “buttinsky,” a piece of equipment used to listen in on phone calls — Maggie resolves to turn sleuth. Some of her coworkers are acting strangely, and Maggie is convinced she has a better chance of figuring out who is responsible for the killing than the rather stolid police team assigned to the case, who seem to think she herself might have had something to do with it. But then one of her friends is murdered too, and it looks like Maggie might be next. Narrated with verve and wit, this is a whodunit in the tradition of Dorothy L. Sayers and Daphne du Maurier, by turns entertaining and suspenseful, and building to a gripping climax.

About the Author

June Wright (1919–2012) was born in Melbourne, Australia, and in her lifetime published six mystery novels, beginning with Murder in the Telephone Exchange in 1948.

"A classic English-style mystery with a perky heroine reminiscent of Georgette Heyer's clever sleuths, packed with detail and menace." ("Kirkus Reviews", April 1, 2014)"An engaging porthole into the past, with lively characters and inventive plotting." ("Publishers Weekly", April 7, 2014)

ISBN: 9781891241376
ISBN-10: 1891241370
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 330
Published: 24th June 2014
Dimensions (cm): 20.3 x 13.5  x 1.9
Weight (kg): 0.4