+612 9045 4394
 
Murder in the Telephone Exchange - June Wright

Murder in the Telephone Exchange

Paperback

Published: 1st November 2013
Ships: 4 to 6 business days
4 to 6 business days
RRP $24.95
$21.25
15%
OFF

eBook View Product

Published: 17th February 2014
Format: PDF
$23.50

First published in 1948, when it was the best-selling mystery of the year in the author’s native Australia, Murder in the Telephone Exchange stars feisty young operator Maggie Byrnes. When one of her more unpopular colleagues is murdered — her head bashed in with a “buttinsky,” a piece of equipment used to listen in on phone calls — Maggie resolves to turn sleuth. Some of her coworkers are acting strangely, and Maggie is convinced she has a better chance of figuring out who is responsible for the killing than the rather stolid police team assigned to the case, who seem to think she herself might have had something to do with it. But then one of her friends is murdered too, and it looks like Maggie might be next. Narrated with verve and wit, this is a whodunit in the tradition of Dorothy L. Sayers and Daphne du Maurier, by turns entertaining and suspenseful, and building to a gripping climax.

About the Author

June Wright (1919–2012) was born in Melbourne, Australia, and in her lifetime published six mystery novels, beginning with Murder in the Telephone Exchange in 1948.

REVIEW SNAPSHOT®

by PowerReviews
Murder in the Telephone Exchange
 
3.7

(based on 3 reviews)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (1)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (1)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (1)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (0)

67%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Reviewed by 3 customers

Displaying reviews 1-3

Back to top

 
5.0

A great, classic page turner

By 

from Melbourne

About Me Bookworm

Pros

  • Deserves Multiple Readings
  • Engaging Characters
  • Page Turner
  • Suspenseful
  • Well Written

Cons

    Best Uses

    • Gift
    • Older Readers

    Comments about Murder in the Telephone Exchange:

    A great read with such descriptive backgrounds that you are immersed and traipsing around a younger Melbourne in the middle of a long hot summer before you know it!

    Comment on this reviewHelp Icon

    (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

     
    4.0

    A great read!

    By 

    from Kempsey, AU

    About Me Bookworm

    Verified Buyer

    Pros

    • Engaging Characters
    • Page Turner
    • Suspenseful
    • Well Written

    Cons

      Best Uses

      • Gift
      • Older Readers

      Comments about Murder in the Telephone Exchange:

      This was a pleasant surprise - a new (to me!) Australian crime author - very evocative of Melbourne in the 1940s, and a great read! Looking forward to reading her other two books to be released in December

      Comment on this reviewHelp Icon

       
      2.0

      don;t judge a book by it's cover

      By 

      from mallee

      About Me Everyday Reader

      Verified Buyer

      Pros

        Cons

        • Disappointing

        Best Uses

          Comments about Murder in the Telephone Exchange:

          wasn't what I thought it would be, found it really hard to get into, didn't bother to finish.

          Comment on this reviewHelp Icon

          Displaying reviews 1-3

          Back to top

          "A classic English-style mystery with a perky heroine reminiscent of Georgette Heyer s clever sleuths, packed with detail and menace." ("Kirkus Reviews," April 1, 2014) "An engaging porthole into the past, with lively characters and inventive plotting." ("Publishers Weekly," April 7, 2014)"

          ISBN: 9781891241376
          ISBN-10: 1891241370
          Audience: General
          Format: Paperback
          Language: English
          Number Of Pages: 330
          Published: 1st November 2013
          Country of Publication: US
          Dimensions (cm): 20.3 x 13.5  x 1.9
          Weight (kg): 0.4