+612 9045 4394
Margaret and Me : Recipes for Life from My Grandmother's Kitchen - Kate Gibbs

Margaret and Me

Recipes for Life from My Grandmother's Kitchen

By: Kate Gibbs, Margaret Fulton (Foreword by)


Published: 1st May 2015
In Stock. Usually ships in 1-2 business days
RRP $39.99

eBook View Product

Published: 1st May 2015
Format: ePUB
RRP $28.00

A food memoir and recipe book in the vein of Julie & Julia

Food writer Kate Gibbs grew up at the apron strings of her grandmother, Margaret Fulton. The matriarch of Australian cooking taught Kate everything she needed to know, including how to make bereavement soup, how thickly to spread butter on bread and that porridge must absolutely be made with salt.

In this privileged glimpse into a modern food dynasty, Kate reveals some of the highs and lows from the life of her extraordinary grandmother, as well as her own experiences growing up 'foodie'. This rich legacy has informed Kate's career and inspired her to talk to a new generation about the joys of cooking and the importance of good, real food.

As well as chronicling her own journey, Kate has distilled this kitchen wisdom into fifty beautifully photographed recipes, a mixture of classic dishes such as Scotch broth and homemade crumpets that recall Margaret's Scottish heritage, to Kate's modern takes on slow-roasted lamb shoulder and custard-filled chocolate profiteroles. These are the recipes that both women grew up with, and which endure as family favourites. Pull up a chair and enjoy.

About the Author

Kate Gibbs is a Sydney-based food and travel writer who pens a weekly food trends column in the Sunday Style supplement in the Sunday Telegraph. Her work has appeared in The Wall Street Journal, The Sydney Morning Herald, Australian Gourmet Traveller, delicious. magazine and many other publications. She also edits her popular blog, kategibbs.com. Kate is the granddaughter of Australian food writer and national living treasure, Margaret Fulton. This is her third book.

ISBN: 9781743310274
ISBN-10: 1743310277
Audience: General
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 256
Published: 1st May 2015
Publisher: Murdoch Books
Country of Publication: AU
Dimensions (cm): 24.0 x 17.0  x 2.8
Weight (kg): 1.09