1300 187 187
 
Longbourn - Jo Baker

Paperback

Published: 17th June 2014
Ships: 10 to 14 business days
10 to 14 business days
RRP $31.95
$19.75
38%
OFF

A New York Times Book Review Notable Book, a Seattle Times Best Title, a Christian Science Monitor Best Fiction Book, a Miami Herald Favorite Book, and a Kirkus Best Book of the Year

The servants take center stage in this irresistibly imagined belowstairs answer to Pride and Prejudice. While Elizabeth Bennet and her sisters fuss over balls and husbands, Sarah, their orphaned housemaid, is beginning to chafe against the boundaries of her class. When a new footman arrives at Longbourn under mysterious circumstances, the carefully choreographed world she has known all her life threatens to be completely, perhaps irrevocably, upended. Mentioned only fleetingly in Jane Austen's classic, here Jo Baker dares to take us beyond the drawing rooms of Regency England and, in doing so, uncovers the real world of the novel that has captivated readers' hearts around the world for generations.

A Best Book of the Year Selection: "New York Times "100 Notable, "Seattle Times, The Guardian, The Daily Mail, Kirkus Reviews" "Rich, engrossing, and filled with fascinating observations. . . . If you are a Jane Austen fan . . . you will devour Jo Baker's ingenious "Longbourn."" --"O, The Oprah Magazine" "Original and charming, even gripping, in its own right." --"The New York Times Book Review""Masterful." --"The""Miami Herald""A witty, richly detailed re-imagining. . . . Fans of Austen and "Downton Abbey" will take particular pleasure in "Longbourn," but any reader with a taste for well-researched historical fiction will delight in Baker's involving, informative tale." --"People" "A bold novel, subversive in ways that prove surprising, and brilliant on every level." --"USA Today" "Delightful." --"The New Yorker""A triumph: a splendid tribute to Austen's original but, more importantly, a joy in its own right, a novel that contrives both to provoke the intellect and, ultimately, to stop the heart." --"The Guardian "(London) "[A] fitting tribute, inventing a touching love story of its own." --"The Wall Street Journal""A freshly egalitarian reimagining." --"Vogue""[Baker's] writing style draws admirably from Austen's." --Minneapolis "Star Tribune""Engaging and rewarding." --"The""Washington Times"""Longbourn" is told with glee and great wit." --"The Daily Beast""The Bennet family's servants imagined by Baker have richly complicated lives and loyalties. . . . Baker deserves a bouquet. . . . Refreshing." --"The""Seattle Times""There's a finale so back-of-the-hand-to-the-forehead romantic, someone should render it in needlepoint." --"Entertainment Weekly""Excellent. . . . In Sarah the housemaid, Baker has created a heroine, living in the same house as Elizabeth Bennet, who manages to shine despite Eliz

ISBN: 9780345806970
ISBN-10: 0345806972
Series: Vintage
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 331
Published: 17th June 2014
Dimensions (cm): 20.3 x 13.6  x 2.1
Weight (kg): 0.27