+612 9045 4394
Lady Oracle - Margaret Atwood


Published: 6th May 1982
In Stock. Usually ships in 1-2 business days

eBook View Product

Published: 28th June 2012
Format: ePUB

From fat girl to thin, from red hair to mud brown, from London to Toronto, from Polish count to radical husband, from writer of romances to distinguished poet - Joan Foster is utterly confused by her life of multiple identiities. She decides to escape to an Italain hill town to take stock of her life. But first, she must organise her own death...

Joan Foster got really fat to spite her mother, an impatient slim lady who was ashamed of her clumsy daughter. Joan only manages to regain an acceptable shape when a beloved aunt leaves her a substantial sum of money providing she loses 100 lbs. But when Joan changes shape she loses the identity that she has grown up with. The rest of her curious unconventional adventures are all part of her search to find her real self. To this end she changes - the colour of her hair from flaming red to mud brown; countries, from Canada to England to Italy; and boyfriends, from a right-wing Polish count to a left-wing revolutionary. She writes Gothic costume dramas under the name of Laura K Delacourt - then reverts to her own name for the publication of a book of serious poetry which, she assures an astonished interviewer, was dictated to her by spirit voices. In order to achieve a final metamorphosis she has to arrange her own death so that she can escape to a small Italian hill town and reconsider her position in society. Prize-winning Canadian author Atwood is a fine storyteller - her endearingly loopy heroine-narrator steps with inconsequential charm from one absurd situation to another - sometimes her heart is heavy but it is never allowed to weigh on the reader who is kept breathlessly amused by the author's penetrating wit and snapping intelligence. First published in 1982 this was Atwood's third novel. She made her name with her first book The Edible Woman. (Kirkus UK)

Margaret Atwood

Margaret Atwood was born in 1939 in Ottawa and grew up in northern Ontario, Quebec, and Toronto. She received her undergraduate degree from Victoria College at the University of Toronto and her master's degree from Radcliffe College.

Throughout her writing career, Margaret Atwood has received numerous awards and honourary degrees. She is the author of more than thirty-five volumes of poetry, children’s literature, fiction, and non-fiction and is perhaps best known for her novels, which include The Edible Woman (1970), The Handmaid's Tale (1983), The Robber Bride (1994), Alias Grace (1996), and The Blind Assassin, which won the prestigious Booker Prize in 2000. Atwood's dystopic novel, Oryx and Crake, was published in 2003. The Tent (mini-fictions) and Moral Disorder (short stories) both appeared in 2006. Her most recent volume of poetry, The Door, was published in 2007. Her non-fiction book, Payback: Debt and the Shadow Side of Wealth ­ in the Massey series, appeared in 2008, and her most recent novel, The Year of the Flood, in the autumn of 2009. Ms. Atwood's work has been published in more than forty languages, including Farsi, Japanese, Turkish, Finnish, Korean, Icelandic and Estonian. In 2004 she co-invented the Long Pen TM.

Margaret Atwood currently lives in Toronto with writer Graeme Gibson.

Associations: Margaret Atwood was President of the Writers' Union of Canada from May 1981 to May 1982, and was President of International P.E.N., Canadian Centre (English Speaking) from 1984-1986. She and Graeme Gibson are the Joint Honourary Presidents of the Rare Bird Society within BirdLife International. Ms. Atwood is also a current Vice-President of PEN International.

Visit Margaret Atwood's Booktopia Author Page

ISBN: 9780860683032
ISBN-10: 0860683036
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 384
Published: 6th May 1982
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 19.7 x 12.6  x 2.4
Weight (kg): 0.28
Edition Number: 1