+612 9045 4394
 
Juliet's Nurse - Lois Leveen

Paperback

Published: 1st August 2015
Ships: 5 to 9 business days
5 to 9 business days
RRP $22.99
$21.25

eBook View Product

Published: 23rd September 2014
Format: ePUB
$13.99

The International Bestseller "Lois Leveen's richly detailed, fascinating novel offers a wholly original and intriguing take on one of Shakespeare's most beloved plays" (New York Times bestselling author Jennifer Chiaverini). In Verona, a city ravaged by plague and political rivalries, a mother mourning the death of her day-old infant enters the household of the powerful Cappelletti family to become the wet-nurse to their newborn baby. As she serves her beloved Juliet over the next fourteen years, the nurse learns the Cappellettis' darkest secrets. Those secrets--and the nurse's deep personal grief--erupt across five momentous days of love and loss that destroy a daughter, and a family. By turns sensual, tragic, and comic, Juliet's Nurse gives voice to one of literature's most memorable and distinctive characters, a woman who was both insider and outsider among Verona's wealthy ruling class. Exploring the romance and intrigue of interwoven loyalties, rivalries, jealousies, and losses only hinted at in Shakespeare's play, this is a never-before-heard tale of the deepest love in Verona--the love between a grieving woman and the precious child of her heart. In the tradition of Sarah Dunant, Philippa Gregory, and Geraldine Brooks, Juliet's Nurse is a rich prequel that reimagines the world's most cherished tale of love and loss, suffering and survival.

"A beautifully written and sometimes chilling novel that's deliciously sensual and fittingly dark. Juliet's Nurse not only seems true to the classic but illuminates it. I couldn't stop reading. "--Arthur L. Little, Jr., UCLA professor and author of Shakespeare Jungle Fever

ISBN: 9781476757452
ISBN-10: 1476757453
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 400
Published: 1st August 2015
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 21.1 x 13.5  x 2.5
Weight (kg): 0.33