+612 9045 4394

Jane Austen

"For what do we live, but to make sport for our neighbours, and laugh at them in our turn?"

Mr Bennet

Jane Austen

Jane Austen

Jane Austen was born on 16 December 1775 at Steventon, near Basingstoke, the seventh child of the rector of the parish. She lived with her family at Steventon until they moved to Bath when her father retired in 1801. After his death in 1805, she moved around with her mother; in 1809, they settled in Chawton, near Alton, Hampshire. Here she remained, except for a few visits to London, until in May 1817 she moved to Winchester to be near her doctor. There she died on 18 July 1817.

Jane Austen was extremely modest about her own genius, describing her work to her nephew, Edward, as 'the little bit (two Inches wide) of Ivory, on which I work with so fine a Brush, as produces little effect after much labour'.

As a girl she wrote stories, including burlesques of popular romances. Her works were published only after much revision, four novels being published in her lifetime.

These are Sense and Sensibility (1811), Pride and Prejudice (1813), Mansfield Park (1814) and Emma (1815). Two other novels, Northanger Abbey and Persuasion, were published posthumously in 1817 with a biographical notice by her brother, Henry Austen, the first formal announcement of her authorship. Persuasion was written in a race against failing health in 1815-16. She also left two earlier compositions, a short epistolary novel, Lady Susan, and an unfinished novel, The Watsons. At the time of her death, she was working on a new novel, Sanditon, a fragmentary draft of which survives.

Sense and Sensibility Sequels By Writers Other Than Ms Austen
The Final Indignity - Jane Austen as Fiction + Books Which Unashamedly Exploit Her Good Name...
2010 - Talking about Jane Austen in Baghdad
2009 - In The Garden With Jane Austen
2008 - The Lost Memoirs of Jane Austen
2008 - Jane and the Barque of Frailty : Being the Ninth Jane Austen Mystery
2006 - The Jane Austen Book Club
2005 - Jane and His Lordship's Legacy : Being the Eighth Jane Austen Mystery
2004 - Jane And The Ghosts Of Netley : Being the Seventh Jane Austen Mystery
2002 - Jane And The Prisoner Of Wool : Being the Sixth Jane Austen Mystery
2002 - The Jane Austen Cookbook
2001 - Jane And The Stillroom Maid : Being the Fifth Jane Austen Mystery
2000 - Jane and the Genius of the Place : Being the Fourth Jane Austen Mystery
1999 - A Walk with Jane Austen
1998 - Jane and the Wandering Eye : Being the Third Jane Austen Mystery
1997 - Jane and the Man of the Cloth : Being the Second Jane Austen Mystery
1996 - Jane and the Unpleasantness at Scargrave Manor : Being the First Jane Austen Mystery
Pride & Prejudice Sequels and Other Scandalous Offerings
2010 - Pride/Prejudice : A Novel of Mr. Darcy, Elizabeth Bennet, And Their Other Loves
2010 - Mr Darcy's Diary - A Novel
2009 - A Match for Mary Bennet: Can a Serious Young Lady Ever Find Her Way to Love?
2009 - Mr Darcy, Vampyre
2009 - My Cousin Caroline : The Pemberley Chronicles 6
2009 - North by Northanger: (Or, the Shades of Pemberley) A Mr. & Mrs. Darcy Mystery 3
2009 - Pride And Prejudice And Zombies
2009 - Pemberley Manor
2009 - Mr and Mrs Fitzwilliam Darcy
2009 - Netherfield Park Revisited
2009 - Lydia Bennet's Story
2008 - Mr Darcy's Daughter
2008 - Ladies of Longbourn
2008 - Mr. Darcy's Decision
2008 - Seducing Mr. Darcy
2008 - The Women of Pemberley : The Pemberley Chronicles 2
2008 - The Pemberley Chronicles : The Pemberley Chronicles 1
2008 - The Darcys Give a Ball : A Gentle Joke, Jane Austen Style
2007 - More Letters from Pemberley
2007 - Letters from Pemberley
2007 - Old Friends and New Fancies : An Imaginary Sequel to the Novels of Jane Austen
2007 - Pride and Prescience: Or, a Truth Univesally Acknowledged - A Mr. & Mrs. Darcy Mystery 1
2007 - Mr Darcy's Diary
2007 - Mr. Darcy Presents His Bride : A Sequel to Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice (Aus. Ed. Title - A Private Performance)
2007 - These Three Remain ( Fitzwilliam Darcy Gentleman 03 )
2006 - Duty and Desire ( Fitzwilliam Darcy Gentleman 02 )
2006 - Darcy's Story
2006 - Pemberley
2006 - Darcy and Elizabeth
2006 - An Assembly Such as This ( Fitzwilliam Darcy Gentleman 01 )
2004 - Pride and Promiscuity : The Lost Sex Scenes of Jane Austen
2004 - Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife
2000 - Jane Austen in Boca
Biographies, Appraisals, Homage and Hysteria
2010 - Jane Austen's Guide to Good Manners : Compliments, Charades and Horrible Blunders
2009 - Jane Austen's Sewing Box : Craft Projects and Stories from Jane Austen's Novels
2009 - So You Think You Know Jane Austen?: A Literary Quizbook
2009 - Jane's Fame: How Jane Austen Conquered the World
2008 - Jane Austen: A Bedside, Bathtub and Armchair Companion
2008 - A Memoir of Jane Austen : And Other Family Recollections
2007 - Dear Jane Austen
2007 - Becoming Jane : A Biography of Young Jane Austen
2007 - What Killed Jane Austen and Other Med Mysteries
2006 - Jane Austen For Dummies
2003 - Jane Austen
2001 - Jane Austen
1994 - What Jane Austen Ate and Charles Dickens Knew