+612 9045 4394
Jamaica Inn : 1st Edition - Daphne Du Maurier

Jamaica Inn

1st Edition

By: Daphne Du Maurier, Sarah Dunant (Introduction by)


Published: 1st July 2003
In Stock. Usually ships in 1-2 business days
RRP $19.99

eBook View Product

Published: 7th June 2012
Format: ePUB

By one of the 20th century's best loved storytellers. A classic tale of murder, mystery and passion - compare to Wuthering Heights.

After the death of her mother, Mary Yellan crosses the windswept Cornish moors to Jamaica Inn, the home of her Aunt Patience. There she finds Patience a changed woman, downtrodden by her domineering, vicious husband Joss Merlyn. The inn is a front for a lawless gang of criminals, and Mary is unwillingly dragged into their dangerous world of smuggling and murder. Before long she will be forced to cross her own moral line to save herself.

About the Author

Daphne du Maurier (1907-89) was born in London, the daughter of the famous actor-manager Sir Gerald du Maurier and granddaughter of George du Maurier, the author and artist. In 1931 her first novel, The Loving Spirit, was published. A biography of her father and three other novels followed, but it was the novel Rebecca that launched her into the literary stratosphere and made her one of the most popular authors of her day. In 1932, du Maurier married Major Frederick Browning, with whom she had three children.

Many of du Maurier's bestselling novels and short stories were adapted into award-winning films, including Alfred Hitchcock's The Birds and Nicolas Roeg's Don't Look Now. In 1969 du Maurier was awarded a DBE. She lived most of her life in Cornwall, the setting for many of her books.

Daphne du Maurier has no equal - Sunday Telegraph

A true classic - Amazon.com

Jamaica Inn is perhaps the most accomplished historical romance ever written - Good Book Guide

Jamaica Inn is a first-rate page-turner. - The Times

A dark tale. A brilliant thriller - Daily Express

'It's a perfect fusion of gothic romance and a young woman's rite of passage in the vein of Twilight and Wuthering Heights' - The Independent

ISBN: 9781844080397
ISBN-10: 1844080390
Series: VMC
Audience: Tertiary; University or College
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 320
Published: 1st July 2003
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 19.7 x 11.8  x 2.1
Weight (kg): 0.26
Edition Number: 1