+612 9045 4394
Jagger : Rebel, Rock Star, Rambler, Rogue - Marc Spitz


Rebel, Rock Star, Rambler, Rogue


Published: 4th September 2012
For Ages: 18+ years old
Ships: 7 to 10 business days
7 to 10 business days

eBook View Product

Published: 8th September 2011
Format: ePUB

An examination of Mick Jagger's spectacular life and the cultural revolution he led as the legendary front man of the Rolling Stones.

As the Rolling Stones celebrate their fiftieth anniversary, their legendary front man remains an enigma; he hasn't given an in-depth interview in a decade and a half. Drawing on firsthand recollections from rockers, filmmakers, writers, and other artists who have been transformed by Mick Jagger's work, acclaimed music journalist Marc Spitz has created a unique examination of the Jagger legacy. Combining biography with cultural history, Jagger unfolds like a captivating documentary, a series of episodes tracing the icon's rise from his childhood in middle-class postwar London to his status as a jet-setting knight.

Culturally astute, often funny, and painstakingly researched, Jagger offers a far richer potrait than biographies published previously. The book reveals much about his relationships (with Marianne Faithfull and ex-wives Bianca Jagger and Jerry Hall); his complex, creative partership with Keith Richards; his friends, including John Lennon and David Bowie; and his enemies, such as Hells Angels leader Sonny Barger. Spitz goes even deeper, exploring Jagger's many roles: authentic soul man; powerful social commentator; sexual liberator; would-be movie star; and a shrewd businessman with an enthusiasm for much younger women. The myth of Mick is examined and rebooted for the twenty-first century.

"Competently enough written, this is a pleasant read that nicely puts all the old stories in some order, referencing discarded lovers, dalliances, and other time-honored themes."--"Booklist"

Intro "Brenda"p. 1
"I Dig to Sing"p. 17
"Preaching the Blues"p. 29
"Stone of Hope"p. 45
"As Tears Go By"p. 61
"We Piss Anywhere, Man"p. 71
"Under the Influence of Bail"p. 81
"I Went Down to the Demonstration"p. 105
"So, Remember Who You Say You Are…"p. 119
All My Friends Are Junkies"p. 137
"The New Judy Garland"p. 155
"Infamous"p. 167
"The Ballad of a Vain Man"p. 181
"The South's Answer to the Rutles"p. 193
"Punker Than Punk, Ruder Than Rude"p. 203
"It's Nice to Have a Chick Occasionally"p. 213
"State of Shock"p. 223
"Look in My Eyes, What Do You See?"p. 237
"An Evil Face"p. 253
"The Red Devils' Blues"p. 263
"A Knight of the Realm"p. 271
"Who Wants Yesterday's Papers?"p. 279
Epilogue: "Onstage with a Cane"p. 287
Acknowledgmentsp. 293
Bibliographyp. 295
Indexp. 303
Table of Contents provided by Ingram. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9781592407347
ISBN-10: 159240734X
Audience: General
For Ages: 18+ years old
For Grades: 12+
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 310
Published: 4th September 2012
Publisher: Gotham Books
Dimensions (cm): 20.1 x 13.5  x 2.0
Weight (kg): 0.16
Edition Number: 1