+612 9045 4394
 
Into My Arms - Kylie Ladd

Paperback

Published: 1st May 2013
In Stock. Usually ships in 1-2 business days
RRP $29.99
$19.50
35%
OFF

eBook View Product

Published: 24th April 2013
Format: ePUB
$26.95

When Skye meets Ben their attraction is instantaneous and intense. Neither of them has ever felt more in synch - or in love - with anyone in their lives. What happens next will tear them both apart. Into My Arms is a searing love story and a gripping family drama - a shocking, haunting novel in the tradition of Jodi Picoult and Caroline Overington.

The kiss ignited something, blew it into being, and afterwards, all Skye could think about was Ben. One day a woman meets a man and falls instantly and irrevocably in love with him. It hits her like a thunderbolt, and she has to have him, has to be with him, regardless of the cost, of the pain of breaking up her existing relationship. She has never felt more in synch-or in love-with anyone in her whole life. So this is how it feels, she thinks to herself, this is what real love feels like.

It's like that for him too; he wants her in a way he's never wanted anything or anyone before: obsessively, passionately, all-consumingly.

She has found her one true love, her soulmate, and he has found his. What happens next will tear them apart and unleash havoc onto their worlds.

This brave, brilliant, electrifying novel from the acclaimed author of After the Fall and Last Summer, will move you deeply and shock you to your core. Love, lust and longing have rarely wielded such power, nor family secrets triggered such devastation.

Praise for Last Summer

'...a strong, intelligent subtle and wise new voice in Australian literature who is already being compared with Christos Tsiolkas, Malcolm Knox and Helen Garner.' - Booktopia

'...an absorbing and compelling tale about the fragility of human relationships, and how we can never know with certainty what the future holds and, when it arrives, how we will react.' - Good Reading

'Vivid characters as recognisable as your own family and friends, facing the challenges that affect us all, make this a very human read.' - Caroline Baum

'... a stunning exploration of loss, life, families and friendships...begins with a punch and within the first few pages I had laughed, cried and held my breath as I read on. The pace never falters and I found the writing and storyline literally breathtaking...written so beautifully and honestly.' - Writing Out Loud

About the Author

Kylie Ladd is a novelist and freelance writer. Her essays and articles have appeared in The Age, Griffith Review and O magazine, among others, and she is a regular contributor to the popular MamaMia website. Kylie's first novel, After the Fall, was published in Australia, the US and Turkey. Her previous books are Naked: Confessions of Adultery and Infidelity and Living with Alzheimer's and Other Dementias. She holds a PhD in neuropsychology and lives in Melbourne with her husband and two children. Her latest novel Last Summer was Highly Commended in the FAW Books of the Year selection and was the receiver of much critical praise.

REVIEW SNAPSHOT®

by PowerReviews
Into My Arms
 
3.5

(based on 6 reviews)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (2)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (1)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (1)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (2)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (0)

67%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Pros

  • Easy to read (4)

Cons

No Cons

Best Uses

  • Older readers (4)
    • Reviewer Profile:
    • Bookworm (3)

Reviewed by 6 customers

Sort by

Displaying reviews 1-6

Back to top

 
2.0

Disappointing

By 

from Canberra

About Me Everyday Reader

Verified Buyer

Pros

  • Easy To Read

Cons

  • Characters Were'nt Real
  • Disappointing
  • Not What I Expected
  • Story Not Believable

Best Uses

    Comments about Into My Arms:

    Didn't grab me

    Comment on this review

     
    4.0

    an interesting read

    By 

    from Tasmania

    About Me Bookworm

    Verified Buyer

    Pros

    • Easy To Read
    • Page-Turner

    Cons

      Best Uses

      • Older Readers

      Comments about Into My Arms:

      THis book was an easy read about a complicated topic.I have thought about it many times since I finished the book and would recommend it to other readers.

      Comment on this review

       
      5.0

      Couldn't put it down.

      By 

      from Victor Harbor AUST

      About Me Everyday Reader

      Verified Buyer

      Pros

      • Easy To Read
      • Engaging characters
      • Informative
      • Page-Turner
      • Well Written

      Cons

        Best Uses

        • Older Readers

        Comments about Into My Arms:

        This great read deals with a very sensitive topic and is handled tactfully in this non fiction genre. Compassion for the characters and a wonderfully well woven story left me unable to put it down. A great insight into a devastating reality of our modern society, genetic sexual attraction.

        Comment on this review

         
        2.0

        dont bother

        By 

        from Melbourne

        About Me Bookworm

        Verified Buyer

        Pros

          Cons

          • Disappointing

          Best Uses

            Comments about Into My Arms:

            The description of this book intrigued me and I thought great here is something different and daring. But I was so disappointed. I found this story so predictable & far too politically correct. The story lacked gumption - the supposedly complicated issues were skimmed over like a romantic Mills & Boon fairytale. Overall, this is a boring not very well written novel. It's not a turn pager of a book at all and the author certainly isn't of Christos Tsiolkas standard! Don't bother.

            Comment on this review

            (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

             
            3.0

            into my arms

            By 

            from melbourne Australia.

            About Me Casual Reader

            Verified Buyer

            Pros

            • Deserves Multiple Readings
            • Different
            • Easy To Read
            • Erie
            • Informative

            Cons

            • But A Touch Mills And Bo
            • Interesting Storyline Bu
            • On

            Best Uses

            • Gift
            • Older Readers
            • Strange Ending

            Comments about Into My Arms:

            Your delivery was first class and I would deal with you again. I heard the author on radio and bought her book but am a little disappointed with it.

            Comment on this review

            (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

             
            5.0

            Complex, confronting and compelling

            By 

            from NSW

            About Me Bookworm

            Pros

            • Engaging characters
            • Well Written

            Cons

              Best Uses

              • Older Readers

              Comments about Into My Arms:

              In her previous novels, Kylie Ladd has written with compelling insight into uncomfortable issues including adultery in After the Fall and death and grief in Last Summer. Into My Arms, her third novel, is similarly confronting while examining the complexities of family, love and desire.

              It's incredibly difficult to articulate my thoughts about Into My Arms while avoiding spoilers. The back cover hints at love at first sight followed by a passionate relationship which is then shattered by a shocking revelation but it is much more than that. Skye and Ben are nearly destroyed by a phenomena that challenges moral and societal conventions and Into My Arms explores it's devastating effects on both the couple and their families.

              What could have been a tawdry, sensationalistic subject, is dealt with carefully, shedding a compassionate light on a little known issue that is particularly relevant in modern society. There is no getting away from the fact that most readers will find it confronting but I think Ladd does a terrific job in humanising the issue by placing ordinary people at the center of the maelstrom.

              Comment on this review

              Displaying reviews 1-6

              Back to top

              'Vivid characters as recognisable as your own family and friends, facing the challenges that affect us all, make this a very human read.' - Caroline Baum

              Kylie Ladd

              Kylie Ladd is a freelance writer whose essays and articles have appeared in The Age, Griffith Review, Etchings, O magazine, The Sydney Morning Herald, Good Medicine, Sydney’s Child, and Readers Digest, amongst others. In 2006 she co-authored Living with Alzheimer’s and Other Dementias (Michelle Anderson Publishing), and in 2008 co-edited Naked: Confessions of Adultery and Infidelity (Allen and Unwin).

              She holds a PhD in neuropsychology and continues to work in public and private practice in this field.

              Kylie loves reading, swimming, running, the beach, reading, eating, reading, her PC and reading. She lives in Melbourne, Australia with her husband, Craig, and two young children.

              Her first novel After the Fall met with critical acclaim. Last Summer is eagerly awaited.

              The Booktopia Book Guru interviewed Kylie click here to read and recommends you follow Kylie on Twitter - click here

              Visit Kylie Ladd's Booktopia Author Page


              ISBN: 9781743314586
              ISBN-10: 1743314582
              Audience: General
              Format: Paperback
              Language: English
              Number Of Pages: 352
              Published: 1st May 2013
              Publisher: Allen & Unwin
              Country of Publication: AU
              Dimensions (cm): 23.4 x 15.3  x 2.6
              Weight (kg): 0.46
              Edition Number: 1