+612 9045 4394
 
Glass Sword: Kneel or Bleed : Red Queen : Book 2 - Victoria Aveyard

Glass Sword: Kneel or Bleed

Red Queen : Book 2

Sorry, the book that you are looking for is not available right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

eBook View Product

Published: 11th February 2016
For Ages: 12 - 16 years old
Format: ePUB
$9.99

Booktopia Comments

It's Kids Month at Booktopia!
From babies and toddlers to YA, our Kids Month Showcase will help you find the perfect book! Each category has a prize pack worth $500 up for grabs - order from the collections by August 31st, 2016! See full T&Cs

Product Description

If there's one thing Mare Barrow knows, it's that she's different. Mare's blood is Red - the colour of common folk - but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control. The crown calls her an impossibility, a fake, but as she makes her escape from the prince and friend who betrayed her, Mare uncovers something startling: she is not the only one of her kind.

Pursued by the Silver king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red-and-Silver fighters to join in the struggle against her oppressors. But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat. Will she shatter under the weight of the lives that are the cost of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her forever?

Sarah McDuling's Review

Victoria Aveyard really knows how to keep readers wanting more. Last year, Red Queen shot to the top of the best sellers lists as people everywhere found themselves captivated by the story of Mare Barrow AKA The Lightning Girl.

Red Queen is a fast paced and action-packed tale set in a dystopian society with a rigid class structure, in a world full of people with superpowers. The book ended on a pretty intense cliff-hanger and luckily Glass Sword picks up right where we left off.

As the second book in the series, Glass Sword has a lot of work to do setting things up for the next book. And yet not only does it manage to match the intensity of the first book, it packs a pretty harsh emotional punch in the final act. And by that I mean not everyone survives and the ending is pretty devastating - consider yourselves warned! In fact, based on the ending (another agonizing cliff-hanger) Victoria Aveyard is clearly gearing up for a pretty spectacular third book.

A must read for fans of Alexandra Bracken, Veronica Roth and Tahereh Mafi.

About the Author

Victoria Aveyard was born and raised in East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, a small town known only for the worst traffic rotary in the continental United States. She moved to Los Angeles to earn a BFA in screenwriting at the University of Southern California. She currently splits her time between the East and West coasts. As an author and screenwriter, she uses her career as an excuse to read too many books and watch too many movies.

Red Queen is a clever blend of The Hunger Games, The Selection, Graceling and Divergent - STARBURST

'A whirlwind of betrayal and plot twists' - SCI-FI NOW

An inventive, character-driven twist breathes new life into tired fantasy trends - KIRKUS

'It's slick, it's interesting and . . . gripping' - SFX

ISBN: 9781409159353
ISBN-10: 1409159353
Series: Red Queen : Book 2
Audience: General
For Ages: 12 - 16 years old
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 464
Published: 9th February 2016
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 23.4 x 15.4  x 3.7
Weight (kg): 0.61
Edition Number: 1