+612 9045 4394
Drums Of Autumn : Outlander Series : Volume 4 - Diana Gabaldon

Drums Of Autumn

Outlander Series : Volume 4

Sorry, the book that you are looking for is not available right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, and found some results for you that may be helpful.

eBook View Product

Published: 30th September 2011
Format: ePUB



Cast ashore in the New World, the Frasers intend to join the exiled Scottish Highlanders in North Carolina, there to build a new life - on the eve of the American Revolution. Tired of war and conflict, Jamie is determined to seek refuge in the mountains, ever a sanctuary.His beloved Claire is by his side, and his daughter Brianna is safe in the future, he need not fight in a war not his own. But the war spares no one, and when Brianna crosses into the past in search of the father she has never seen, Jamie learns again what he has always known: neither innocence nor isolation is a shield and love is the only thing worth fighting for.

About the Author

Diana Gabaldon is the international bestselling author of five previous historical novels - Cross Stitch, Dragonfly in Amber, Voyager, Drums Of Autumn and The Fiery Cross, and one work of non-fiction, Through the Stones. She lives with her family and a lot of other assorted wildlife in Scottsdale, Arizona.

A convoluted, long-winded tome from Gabaldon (Voyager, 1994, etc.), who brings back the Scottish rebel Jamie Fraser and Claire, a time-traveler from the 20th century and the love of his life, as they face the late 18th century with characteristic aplomb. This time out, Jamie and Claire arrive in the US from Great Britain and are joined by Jamie's teenage nephew Ian. Although vividly drawn and well-developed, all three characters quickly become tangential; from the very first scene, set in Charleston in 1767, it is clear that the focus is to be not on them but on the "hot button" issues of the time: British/American tension, slavery, Indians, and impending war. There's a secondary storyline as well, which takes place in the late 20th century and involves Jamie and Claire's college-student daughter Brianna and her desperate attempts to find love in her present-day life while simultaneously striving to rejoin her mother - and Jamie, the father she has never known - in the past. Roger Wakefield, a Scottish student who helped Claire travel back in time in the previous books, is the object of Brianna's affection now; the fact that he knows about Brianna's parents' unusual situation allows him both to win her heart for eternity and also help her rejoin her loved ones, in very unusual fashion. Conflict between Claire's past and present lives is omnipresent; at various times she's forced to perform surgery (she was a doctor in 20th-century England), explain TV, and reminisce about life with the husband she had in modern times, pre-Jamie. Ghost story, historical novel, fantasy, stock romance? In her attempt to be all things to all people, Gabaldon has created a 900-page monster with far too many components. Only for the author's most rabid fans. (Kirkus Reviews)

ISBN: 9780099664314
ISBN-10: 0099664313
Series: Outlander
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 1200
Published: 22nd August 1997
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 17.8 x 11.0  x 5.1
Weight (kg): 0.63
Edition Number: 1