1300 187 187
 
Company - Max Barry

Paperback

Published: 1st March 2007
Ships: 5 to 9 business days
5 to 9 business days
RRP $29.95
$27.50

eBook View Product

Published: 5th March 2007
Format: ePUB
$26.25

When is physical violence an appropriate response to management policy? Why is that one reserved parking space always empty? And when does helping yourself to an extra doughnut at morning tea become a criminal act?

At Zephyr Holdings, no one has ever seen the CEO. The floors are numbered in reverse, the Mission Statement could mean almost anything, and the beautiful receptionist is paid twice as much as anybody else, but appears to do no work. One of the sales reps uses relationship books as sales manuals, and another is on the warpath because somebody stole his doughnut.

In other words, it's a typical big company. Or at least, that's what everyone thinks, until fresh-faced employee Jones - too new to understand you just don't ask some questions - starts investigating. Soon Jones uncovers the company's secret: the answer to everything, what Zephyr Holdings really does, and why every manager carries a copy of the Omega Management System. It plunges him into a maelstrom of love, loyalty, management, and corporate immorality - and whether he can get out again. Now that's a good question.

In the tradition of William Gibson, Joseph Heller, and Douglas Coupland, Company is a biting, incisive, and delightful satire of corporate culture.

Max Barry

Max Barry is the author of four previous novels, including New York Times Notable Book Jennifer Government and Syrup, soon to be a major film. He is also the creator of the internet mini-phenomenon NationStates, an online political simulation game. He lives in Melbourne, Australia, with his wife and two daughters. He is a cat person.

Visit Max Barry's Booktopia Author Page


ISBN: 9781921215643
ISBN-10: 192121564X
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Published: 1st March 2007
Publisher: Scribe Publications
Dimensions (cm): 20.8 x 13.7  x 2.5
Weight (kg): 20.8
Edition Number: 1