+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
City of Miracles : The Divine Cities Series: Book 3 - Robert Jackson Bennett

City of Miracles

The Divine Cities Series: Book 3

Paperback

Published: 20th April 2017
In Stock. Ships in 1-2 business days from Australia
RRP $32.99
$25.50
23%
OFF

eBook View Product

Published: 4th May 2017
Format: ePUB
$16.99

Sigrud je Harkvaldsson is back, and this time he's out for vengeance. 'Astonishingly good ...a deep, powerful novel that's worth reading and rereading -- Publishers Weekly

The awesome climax to the fantasy thrillers City of Stairs and City of Blades: perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Brent Weeks and China Mieville. Shara Komayd, once Prime Minister of Saypur, has been assassinated. News travels fast and far, even to a remote logging town somewhere northwest of Bulikov, where the silent, shaven-headed Dreyling worker 'Bjorn' picks up the newspaper and walks out. He is shocked and grieved and furious; he's been waiting thirteen years for Shara, his closest friend, to reach out to him - to tell him to come home. He's always believed she was running a long operation, that there would be a role for him at the right time. Now he has no one else in his life, and nothing to live for - except to find the people who did this.

Sigrud wasn't there for the death of his daughter Signe, and he wasn't there when Shara was murdered. Now Bjorn is dead and Sigrud is back. And he will find answers, for Shara, and for himself. He's made a promise...

About the Author

Robert Jackson Bennett was born in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, but grew up in the half-developed suburbs of Katy, Texas. He spent most of his time playing on construction sites and in drainage ditches, which would explain a lot. His interest in writing came from hearing about the books his older brother was reading and then attempting to mimic them. He attended the University of Texas at Austin and, like a lot of its alumni, was unable to leave the charms of the city and resides there currently.

In a word, City of Blades is perfection - The Bibliosanctum on City of Blades

In short, this book lived up to my expectations, with the later part, especially, a white-knuckle read that demands to be taken in one session. Superb fantasy - Blue Book Balloon on City of Blades

Building beautifully upon the richly detailed world introduced in the first book of the series, Bennett serves a stew of fantasy and adventure with a healthy dose of humor and a ladle full of violence - Library Journal, starred review on City of Blades

Astonishingly good . . . a deep, powerful novel that's worth reading and rereading - Publishers Weekly, starred review on City of Blades

I would recommend City of Blades, and its predecessor, to anybody looking for an example of cutting edge, subversive and self-aware epic fantasy, with a strong flavour of spy thriller fiction. I sincerely hope this will be a landmark trilogy that, like the deathblow to a Divinity, will have a rippling effect on the epic fantasy genre for years to come - SFF World on City of Blades

Richly detailed and expertly plotted. A grand entertainment - Kirkus on City of Blades

ISBN: 9781784291082
ISBN-10: 1784291080
Series: The Divine Cities
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 448
Published: 20th April 2017
Publisher: Quercus Publishing Plc
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 23.4 x 15.4  x 3.3
Weight (kg): 0.58
Edition Number: 1