+612 9045 4394
Choral Masterpieces : Major and Minor - Nicholas Tarling

Choral Masterpieces

Major and Minor


Published: 1st August 2014
Ships: 7 to 10 business days
7 to 10 business days
RRP $101.99

In Choral Masterpieces: Major and Minor, historian Nicholas Tarling offers short essays on over 28 works, from major masterpieces such as Handel's Messiah and Bach's St. Matthew's Passion to off-the-beaten path choral works such as Samuel Coleridge-Taylor's Hiawatha and Frederick Delius' A Mass of Life. Throughout, Tarling offers assessments that sparkle with unique insights and at the same time ground listeners in the historical contexts of these works' production and performance. Each work is transformed in Tarling's able hands from musical composition to a window into the mind and milieu of the composer.

Introduction Monteverdi's Vespers Bach's St Matthew Passion Handel's Messiah Mozart's Requiem Haydn's The Creation Beethoven's Missa Solemnis Schumann's Paradise and the Peri Mendelssohn's St Paul [Paulus] Mendelssohn's Elijah Berlioz's La damnation de Faust Berlioz's L'enfance du Christ Rossini's Petite messe solennelle Brahms' A German Requiem Paine's St Peter Lizst's Christus Verdi's Requiem Parry's Prometheus Unbound Coleridge-Taylor's Hiawatha Elgar's The Dream of Gerontius Elgar's Trilogy Delius's A Mass of Life Vaughan Williams' A Sea Symphony Janacek's Glagolithic Mass Hindemith's When Lilacs Last Tippett's A Child of Our Time Britten's War Requiem

ISBN: 9781442234529
ISBN-10: 1442234520
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 232
Published: 1st August 2014
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 22.5 x 15.6  x 1.7
Weight (kg): 0.36