+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Calling Major Tom - David M. Barnett

Paperback

Published: 31st January 2017
In Stock. Ships in 1-2 business days from Australia
RRP $29.99
$23.95
20%
OFF

eBook View Product

Published: 19th January 2017
Format: ePUB
$16.99

Calling Major Tom is a heart-warming and ultimately life-affirming story of a man who has given up on the world... but discovers in the most unlikely way that it might not have given up on him.

We all know someone like Thomas.

The grumpy next-door-neighbour who complains to the Residents' Committee about the state of your front lawn. The man who tuts when you don't have the correct change at the checkout. The colleague who sends an all-company email when you accidentally use the last drop of milk.

Thomas is very happy to be on his own, far away from other people and their problems.

But beneath his cranky exterior lies a story and a sadness that is familiar to us all. And he's about to encounter a family who will change his view of the world.

An irresistible and heart-warming tale of a very unexpected friendship, perfect for fans of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and A Man Called Ove. You'll laugh, you'll cry and you will cheer on all the curmudgeons in your life.

About the Author

David Barnett is an author and journalist based in West Yorkshire. After a career working for regional newspapers he embarked upon a freelance career writing features for most of the UK national press. He is the author of the critically-acclaimed Gideon Smith series of Victorian fantasies, published by Tor Books, and teaches journalism part-time at Leeds Trinity University. David was born in Wigan, Lancashire, in 1970 and is married to Claire, also a journalist. They have two children, Charlie and Alice.

Praise for the feel-good novel of 2017, Calling Major Tom: A book about loneliness, about bravery, about the walls we all put up to protect ourselves and about how it is never ever too late to try to change. Katie Marsh, author of MY EVERYTHING A gorgeously quirky story about families, forgiveness and unexpected friendships - sheer joy. Lucy Diamond, author of THE SECRETS OF HAPPINESS ...a pure pleasure to read, full of well-observed characters and hope, and a much-needed antidote for these worrying times. Julie Cohen, author of TOGETHER CALLING MAJOR TOM is blooming marvellous! Original, moving and mercilessly funny, this is an unashamedly feel-good story. I laughed, I cried and I cheered for the wonderful characters. Don't hesitate - fall in love with this book! Miranda Dickinson, author of SEARCHING FOR A SILVER LINING Brilliant, funny, heartwarming and exactly what everyone needs right now. I loved it. Rachael Lucas, author of Wildflower Bay A funny, moving, absorbing hot chocolate of a story - hot chocolate with chilli, that is, because there were bits were I laughed aloud! The pages just turned themselves - I can't wait for the next David Barnett. Daniela Sacerdoti, author of CALLING YOU HOME A bitter-sweet, original blend of social realism and sci-fi; funny, engaging and honest. Stuart Maconie A book about being alone and being together, being lost and being found. One man against infinity: what are the chances? Good, as it happens. I loved this book. One huge step for a man, no longer lost in space. David Quantick

ISBN: 9781409170099
ISBN-10: 1409170098
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 304
Published: 31st January 2017
Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 23.3 x 15.4  x 2.2
Weight (kg): 0.41
Edition Number: 1