1300 187 187
 
Not That Kind of Girl : A Young Woman Tells You What She's

Not That Kind of Girl

A Young Woman Tells You What She's "Learned"

Author: Lena Dunham
Read by: Lena Dunham

Audio CD

Available: 30th September 2014
Pre-Order Today. Usually ships in 3-4 business days after release.
RRP $48.99
$41.95
14%
OFF

For readers of Nora Ephron, Tina Fey, and David Sedaris, this hilarious, poignant, and extremely frank collection of personal essays confirms Lena Dunham--the acclaimed creator, producer, and star of HBO's "Girls"--as one of the brightest and most original writers working today. "If I can take what I've learned in this life and make one treacherous relationship or degrading job easier for you, perhaps even prevent you from becoming temporarily vegan, then every misstep of mine will have been worthwhile. This book contains stories about wonderful nights with terrible boys and terrible days with wonderful friends, about ambition and the two existential crises I had before the age of twenty. About fashion and its many discontents. About publicly sharing your body, having to prove yourself in a meeting full of fifty-year-old men, and the health fears (tinnitus, lamp dust, infertility) that keep me up at night. I'm already predicting my future shame at thinking I had anything to offer you with this book, but also my future glory in having stopped you from trying an expensive juice cleanse or having the kind of sexual encounter where you keep your sneakers on. No, I am not a sexpert, a psychologist, or a registered dietician. I am not a married mother of three or the owner of a successful hosiery franchise. But I am a girl with a keen interest in self-actualization, sending hopeful dispatches from the front lines of that struggle."

Advance praise for "Not That Kind of Girl"" ""It's not Lena Dunham's candor that makes me gasp. Rather, it's her writing--which is full of surprises where you least expect them. This is a fine, subversive book."--David Sedaris "Always funny, sometimes wrenching, these essays are a testament to the creative wonder that is Lena Dunham."--Judy Blume "Dunham's writing is just as smart, honest, sophisticated, dangerous, and charming as her work on "Girls." Its essential quality is a kind of joyful super-awareness: of herself, the world, the human. Reading her makes you glad to be in the world, and glad that she's in it with you."--George Saunders "Very few women have become famous for being who they actually are, nuanced and imperfect. When honesty happens, it's usually couched in self-ridicule or self-help. Dunham doesn't apologize like that--she simply tells her story as if it might be interesting. The result is shocking and radical because it is utterly familiar." Not That Kind of Girl" is hilarious, artful, and staggeringly intimate; I read it shivering with recognition."--Miranda July "From the Hardcover edition."

ISBN: 9780804127318
ISBN-10: 080412731X
Audience: General
Format: Audio CD
Language: English
Available: 30th September 2014
Weight (kg): 0.16