+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession : Six Tudor Queens : Book 2 - Alison Weir

Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession

Six Tudor Queens : Book 2

Paperback

Published: 16th May 2017
In Stock. Ships in 1-2 business days from Australia
RRP $29.99
$24.95
17%
OFF

Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession by bestselling historian Alison Weir, author of Katherine Of Aragon: The True Queen, is the second captivating novel in the Six Tudor Queens series. An unforgettable portrait of the ambitious woman whose fate we know all too well, but whose true motivations may surprise you. Essential reading for fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick.

The young woman who changed the course of history.

Fresh from the palaces of Burgundy and France, Anne draws attention at the English court, embracing the play of courtly love.

But when the King commands, nothing is ever a game.

Anne has a spirit worthy of a crown - and the crown is what she seeks. At any price.

Anne Boleyn. The second of Henry's Queens. Her story.
History tells us why she died. This powerful novel shows her as she lived.


About the Author

Alison Weir is the top-selling female historian (and the fifth bestselling historian overall) in the United Kingdom, and has sold over 2.7 million books worldwide. She is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts and Sciences and an Honorary Life Patron of Historic Royal Palaces, and is married with two adult children.

Anne Boleyn is the second in the Six Tudor Queens series of novels about the wives of Henry VIII, which began with Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen - a Sunday Times Top Ten bestseller.

WRITE A REVIEW

REVIEW SNAPSHOT®

by PowerReviews
Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession
 
4.0

(based on 1 review)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (1)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (0)

Reviewed by 1 customer

Displaying review 1

Back to top

 
4.0

Well worth a read even though it's a well known story

By 

from Sydney

About Me Everyday Reader

Verified Reviewer

Pros

  • Captures Time And Place
  • Easy To Understand
  • Interesting Characters
  • Well Written

Cons

    Best Uses

      Comments about Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession:

      I really enjoyed this historical fictional account of Anne Boleyn's life. Having been to Hever Castle and the Tower of London, I was able to picture her there throughout the story. As the name suggests, the story is all about Anne with the other characters secondary to hers. Having read several stories about Henry and Anne and seen shows on TV in the past didn't detract from this telling. I must admit that the end has haunted me all day and I'm still quite disturbed about what she may have gone through. The author's notes at the end are well worth a read. Definitely a book I would recommend to those interested in historical fiction and I would now love to read about all the other wives.

      Displaying review 1

      Back to top

      Alison Weir's wonderfully detailed novel offers a spellbinding solution to the mystery of Anne's true nature ... Enthralling -- Sarah Gristwood on Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession Weir's Boleyn is a highly intelligent idealist, who becomes the tragic victim of her own ambition... The novel is a triumph of fine detail and research and offers a complex depiction of an endlessly fascinating woman -- Elizabeth Fremantle on Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession This is Anne Boleyn as you have never seen her before. I could not put it down -- Tracy Borman on Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession A marvellous book - Anne comes alive and leaps from the page, fascinating, enthralling, full blooded - you can't help but fall in love with her. A brilliant evocation of the period - and a knife edge moment in British history. Wonderful -- Kate Williams on Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession Alison Weir has brought English history's most famous 'other woman' compellingly to life. The story of Anne Boleyn's rise from accomplished court lady to Henry VIII's second queen is vividly told and the terror of her final days will haunt the reader. A must for all lovers of historical fiction -- Linda Porter, author of Katherine the Queen and Royal Renegades Alison Weir makes history come alive as no one else -- Barbara Erskine Alison Weir is the doyen of Tudor fiction and non-fiction ... With Alison's light touch, [Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession] is fiction that reads as fact, and leaves us breathless, hoping ... then of course we recognise that we are not reading pure fiction after all, but a finely woven tapestry of fictional biography that stays with us long after we close the book at the final line. It is simply a masterpiece -- Susan Ronald on Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession Weir's outstanding and sound historical research shines through, shedding new light on England's most controversial queen. Weir provides page after page of utterly compelling detail, keeping the reader hooked from start to finish. This book is not only a world apart from any other novel on Anne Boleyn, it is also an exquisite work of literary art -- Nicola Tallis on Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession Detailed, immaculately researched and convincing -- Antonia Senior The Times on Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession Prominent royal biographer and historical novelist Weir is well-placed to craft this detailed fictional portrait of Henry VIII's second wife ... She explores Anne's influences and motivations, creating a multifaceted portrait of an ambitious woman who reluctantly accedes to Henry's courtship and later acts out of desperation to protect herself and her daughter, Elizabeth. Even readers who know Anne's story well should gain insights from this revealing novel Booklist on Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession Weir is excellent on the little details that bring a world to life Guardian This exquisite book charts the rise and fall of Henry VIII's first wife, Katherine... A fascinating insight into this period of our history. Weir's undeniable strength is her immaculate description, enabling the reader to be transported back to Tudor England Sun Weir manages to untangle the complex web of 16th-century politics, shown through Katherine's duties as ambassador, and her astute reading of the games being played. This adds greatly to the heft of the character, demonstrating what a competent woman she was becoming Herald Scotland Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen is a true tour de force. Finely crafted, this novel is wonderful historical fiction and an outstanding introduction to the Six Tudor Queens series Queen Anne Boleyn Blog Alison Weir clearly admires her heroine ... meticulously researched The Times Captivating... The way that Katherine comes alive on the page is credit to the author who has such a breadth of knowledge about this Tudor period that it's a real pleasure to read her fictional work Jaffareadstoo Blog This well-researched and engrossing read gives a new perspective on the long-suffering first wife Good Housekeeping Known for bestselling historical biographies, Alison Weir is in command of her detail ... her handling of Katherine's misery and dignified response to her predicament is very touching -- Elizabeth Buchan Daily Mail The authentic voice of Katherine rings true throughout. It is a study of a woman who inspires admiration as well as sympathy ... a fitting tribute to a queen who was unduly wronged by history Lady This ambitious, engrossing novel tells Katherine's story from that moment, through her brief and controversial marriage to Prince Arthur and then to his brother, the handsome, gallant Henry VIII ... Fascinating S Magazine (Sunday Express) Alison ensures that we not only come away knowing more of the real Katherine, we understand more of how it felt to be her... The author really enables us to feel the claustrophobia and paranoia as Katherine tries to make decisions for her day to day life on snippets of news from her advisors - advisors she begins to realise may not be telling her the truth The Book Bag Alison Weir brings Henry VIII's first queen to life, revealing a strong, spirited and intelligent woman fighting for her rights and those of her daughter Choice magazine Weir's opening foray into the life of Katherine of Aragon presents Henry's first and most enduring marriage from a refreshingly new and utterly gripping perspective Lancashire Evening Post Brilliantly rich Heat

      ISBN: 9781472227638
      ISBN-10: 1472227638
      Series: Six Tudor Queens : Book 2
      Audience: General
      Format: Paperback
      Language: English
      Number Of Pages: 544
      Published: 16th May 2017
      Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
      Country of Publication: GB
      Dimensions (cm): 23.4 x 15.3  x 4.4
      Weight (kg): 0.91
      Edition Number: 1