+612 9045 4394
 
A Crime in the Family - Sacha Batthyany

A Crime in the Family

By: Sacha Batthyany, Anthea Bell (Translator)

Paperback

Published: 14th March 2017
In Stock. Ships in 1-2 business days from Australia
RRP $32.99
$25.50
23%
OFF

Booktopia Comments

You could WIN a prize pack, worth $1000 RRP! To enter, order from Booktopia's Mother's Day Gift Guide by May 3rd. Terms and Conditions apply.

Product Description

A memoir of brutality, heroism and personal discovery from Europe's dark heart, revealing one of the most extraordinary untold stories of the Second World War.

In the spring of 1945, at Rechnitz on the Austrian-Hungarian border, not far from the front lines of the advancing Red Army, Countess Margit Batthy ny gave a party in her mansion. The war was almost over, and the German aristocrats and SS officers dancing and drinking knew it was lost. Late that night, they walked down to the village, where 180 enslaved Jewish labourers waited, made them strip naked, and shot them all, before returning to the bright lights of the party. It remained a secret for decades, until Sacha Batthy ny, who remembered his great-aunt Margit only vaguely from his childhood as a stern, distant woman, began to ask questions about it.

A Crime In The Family is Sacha Batthy ny's memoir of confronting these questions, and of the answers he found. It is one of the last untold stories of Europe's nightmare century, spanning not just the massacre at Rechnitz, the inhumanity of Auschwitz, the chaos of wartime Budapest and the brutalities of Soviet occupation and Stalin's gulags, but also the silent crimes of complicity and cover-up, and the damaged generations they leave behind.

Told partly through the surviving journals of others from the author's family and the vanished world of Rechnitz, A Crime In The Family is a moving and revelatory memoir in the vein of The Hare With The Amber Eyes and The House By The Lake. It uncovers barbarity and tragedy but also a measure of peace and reconciliation. Ultimately, Batthy ny discovers that although his inheritance might be that of monsters, he does not bear it alone.

About the Author

Sacha Batthyany was born in Switzerland in 1973 to Hungarian emigre parents. He was an editor at the Neue Zurcher Zeitung and is now a political reporter for the Suddeutsche Zeitung, based in Washington DC.

A dazzlingly written book... a great essay on the presence of the past. - Der Spiegel

ISBN: 9781786480552
ISBN-10: 1786480557
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 304
Published: 14th March 2017
Publisher: Quercus Publishing Plc
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 23.4 x 15.3  x 1.6
Weight (kg): 0.28
Edition Number: 1